[R&F] Science Victory, Rise and Fall

jgsb2001

Chieftain
Hello,
I just picked up Civ VI over Thanksgiving and I am enjoying it so far but I have a question about a science victory.

I am currently playing as America, Settler (I know, I'm still new to the systems), Standard speed, Continents. I am on turn 460, in second place in every category, including score (1100 its). France is leading (1400 pts).

I thought I was on my way to a science victory by launching the three Mars "expeditions" but when I launched the last one (Mars Hydroponics) I was taken to the "defeated" screen. What did I do wrong, or miss? Is the fact I that was 300 points behind France the issue, meaning I need to have the point lead as well?

I did do a quick google search but the results were all from 2016 and did not included Rise and Fall.

Thank you in advance for any advice. I have a save file so I can go back and reexamine my mistakes.

but when I launched the last one (Mars Hydroponics) I was taken to the "defeated" screen. What did I do wrong, or miss?
It sounds like one of 2 possibilities.
1. Someone else beat you to victory
2. A bug.
Load back to the turn before you won and go through the victory screens to see who else was very close. You need to keep an eye on the opposition.
If there is nothing or you just want someone to check, post your save from the turn before here and I’ll happily help.

Thank you for your reply Victoria.

It appears that France did win the Cultural Victory just as I was launching my last Mars mission on my last game. I went back and replayed the last 30 turns and won the science victory after making a three key changes. 1) I moved Pingala from Philly to New York (location of the last Mars mission) which aided in the speed of production. 2) Sent all trades to New York 3) I chopped a forest near New York for more production. Those three things shaved 5 turns off the production of the final Mars mission and led to victory.