1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Squidimp Builds

Discussion in 'C2C mod mods' started by Squidimp, Apr 20, 2016.

  1. Squidimp

    Squidimp Apollonian Chthonian

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks, I've updated the graphics in the new set.

    Known issues in this set:
    - prereqs for Omnimycological Compendium, Complete Terran Taxonomy aren't working in Python.

    Can anyone think of any way to make a building enable the construction of another building anywhere in the world?
     
  2. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    22,869
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    I think there are two ways but the best would be to look at how the Manhatten Project opens the Fallout Shelter for everyone.
     
  3. Squidimp

    Squidimp Apollonian Chthonian

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    Australia
    I've found three ways in which it's done in the game so far:

    1.
    The way that's used for the First Cloned Mammal etc. is to activate <EveryoneSpecialBuilding> on a special building linked to the building you want. This would be perfect, except that it's only enabled for Projects, not buildings.

    2.
    Alternatively, Bomb Shelter requires that at least 1 player knows the Fission tech. I guess I could make a freebie tech that you get when you build a particular Wonder, but that seems like a somewhat clunky implementation.

    Edit: Method 2 doesn't work. It looks like the Bomb Shelter thing is a weird red herring. (Also, bomb shelter seems to require the builder to know Fission now?)

    3.
    Finally, there is a special Nuke tag on the Manhatten Project that is required for the various nuke buildings/units specifically.


    I guess I'll probably end up going with making a special tech, although that method seems a little unwieldy.
     
  4. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    22,869
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    I think there is a fourth way - have the buildingclassneededs tag on the building you want to activate point to building that you want to do the activation and then put 0 in the needed in city tag. I can't remember if this is global or only works for team or player though.
     
  5. Squidimp

    Squidimp Apollonian Chthonian

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    Australia
    It doesn't display as a requirement in the Civilopedia if used that way. :confused:
    As far as I can tell <PrereqBuildingClass> is used when a building needs to exist in the empire, rather than in the city.
     
  6. pepper2000

    pepper2000 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    881
    I'll be very interested to see if you figure out a cleaner mechanism for this. I've been looking for better ways to do interplanetary trade. It would nice, for instance, to have a single resource exporter on Earth that would allow an unlimited number of resource importers to be built on Mars, without resorting to Effect buildings or other intermediate steps.
     
  7. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    22,869
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Yes it does, for PrereqBuildingClass, but I am not sure that is the case for BuildingClassNeededs as I get the cat breeder buildings even if I have not built the Big Cat Trainer but someone else has.
     
  8. Squidimp

    Squidimp Apollonian Chthonian

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    Australia
    I tested that method, and it doesn't appear to work in-game, either.
    What cat-breeder buildings are you talking about? :hmm:
     
  9. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    22,869
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    OK it looks like it was a bug in the building that has since been fixed. Sorry for leading you off track.

    I think you may be stuck with alternative 2. Make the tech unable to be researched (cost=-1) and put it at x=-1 y=-1.
     
  10. Squidimp

    Squidimp Apollonian Chthonian

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    Australia
    The tech solution seems to be working fine. Edit: Nope. False alarm, it displays in the Civilopedia but doesn't work in-game.

    In the long-term, it might be a good idea to port the <EveryOneSpecialBuilding> tag over to the Building Schema. I'd do it myself, but it'd hardly be modular at that point ;)
    I don't want to lock out people who don't use the SVN.

    Edit 2: Journey to the Centre of the Edit
    EUREKA. :rockon:
    I have figured out how to get a building to enable other buildings worldwide using AIandy's Expression System. Details in the Expression system thread.
     
  11. Kornifere

    Kornifere Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Germany
    Hm... Don't get the mod mod work with SVN 9351... It shows different errors like

    Assert Failed

    File: CvArtFileMgr.cpp
    Line: 101
    SVN-Rev: 9346
    Expression: false
    Message: ArtInfo: 'ART_DEF_BUILDING_COUNTING_COUP' was not found

    ----------------------------------------------------------
    Assert Failed

    File: CvArtFileMgr.cpp
    Line: 101
    SVN-Rev: 9346
    Expression: false
    Message: ArtInfo: 'ERROR' was not found

    ----------------------------------------------------------

    Kind regards

    Kornifere
     
  12. Squidimp

    Squidimp Apollonian Chthonian

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    Australia
    Apologies for the late reply. That transcript would seem to suggest that the art folder was not installed or somehow installed incorrectly. Did this issue only arise after you updated the SVN?
     

Share This Page