1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

The 2000 Hour Club...

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by AmtrakQuebec, Apr 16, 2017.

  1. Katakanja

    Katakanja Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1,258
    There's actually a purchase history somewhere under one of the account menus that lists everything you've bought from/activated on Steam. It's been a while since I looked at it, so I don't remember exactly where it is, but I'm sure its not too hard to find if you go poking around the settings.
     
    nzcamel likes this.
  2. SlySlySly

    SlySlySly Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2017
    Messages:
    293
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Denver
    dang, I only hit 369 hours... granted about 70 or so of those hours were afk, I do a lot of ai only battles to test civilizations. Also just for fun.
     
  3. WillowBrook

    WillowBrook Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    3,280
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    If Steam simply disappeared, the publishers would have to make arrangements for those who bought the game through Steam to regain access, and if the publisher has disappeared or doesn't care, yes, you've lost the game. But Steam's millions of users would be a very valuable asset. Most likely if they got in financial trouble, they could sell the accounts with the game access rights; users would just have to agree to work with the new owner to get access again.

    On topic: 20170525_094814.png
    Still have a ways to go.
     
    Victoria and nzcamel like this.
  4. Disgustipated

    Disgustipated Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    11,189
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I'm at 396 right now, I'm quickly catching up to my Civ5 total (677)

    As for Steam going out of business, it's not something I worry about. It's just too damn convenient not to use. The only way you can really lose your games is if we lost the internet completely, like for a long period of time. And I don't even think the best hackers can accomplish this even if they all teamed up.

    Of course a Carrington event can send us all back to the stone age. And you won't be able to play your games that way, but if you've already downloaded them, you can always play in offline mode on your laptop batteries until they run out. Or if you have a generator. You can be playing Civ6 (assuming you were able to shield your laptop or computer) as you slowly starve to death.
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2017
  5. TurboJ

    TurboJ Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    Messages:
    282
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Finland
    Well, not quite at 2000 hours just yet, but how do you rate this:

    Steam report: "Playtime past 2 weeks: 180.2h"
     
    nzcamel likes this.
  6. Sprenk

    Sprenk Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    319
    Location:
    Traverse City, Michigan
    Civ 5: 2670 hours
    Civ 6: 499 hours (so far)

    Time to round that number up!
     
    nzcamel likes this.
  7. Leyrann

    Leyrann Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    4,015
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Netherlands
    13 hours per day... Are you kidding me?
     
    nzcamel likes this.
  8. _ViKinG_

    _ViKinG_ BERSERKER

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    305
    I got 3700 hours on civ 5.(i still play it). I only have 54 hours in civ 6. Not playing that game now. never played into modern eras even. bad ai in combat and they build so few cities so its not fun. for me civ 6 is just a building game now with not mutch combat. so i will wait for maybee an expansion or better patches
     
  9. Forster

    Forster Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Messages:
    434
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Columbus, GA
    Must be retired like me, or maybe a student on break. Great to be retired. :thumbsup:
     
  10. TurboJ

    TurboJ Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    Messages:
    282
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Finland
    You could say I'm temporarily retired. Good thing is there's no time pressure. Bad thing is there's no perspective of future...
     
  11. Leyrann

    Leyrann Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    4,015
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Did you even play after the last patch?
     
    nzcamel and DizzKneeLand33 like this.
  12. Balkans

    Balkans Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    BosniaAndHerzegovina
    Steam says 318 hours for me. But i hate the fact that i couldn't possibly say how much of that is play time. It's not rare that i start playing, something happens, i need to leave but i don't want to exit the game because i kinda want to continue playing, life happens and i'm 5 hours later back at my computer just to exit the game. There you go, 5 hours of playing civ if you ask steam statistics.
     
  13. _ViKinG_

    _ViKinG_ BERSERKER

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    305
    Yea i played some. What is good now of what i mention? I dont know how the late game is so
     
  14. Captain Pugwash

    Captain Pugwash Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2001
    Messages:
    241
    Location:
    England
    Let's see. There are 229 days since Civ6 was released to today. So to reach 2000 hours already, you would need to play 2000/229 = 8.7 hours per day.
    Yes you have a problem :crazyeye:
    I have a modest 500 hours so far.
     
  15. Leyrann

    Leyrann Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    4,015
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Netherlands
    You wouldn't be complaining about the AI if you were playing deity early game. Consider that there's deity games where the best of this forum have to restart several times to not lose in the first 100 turns.
     
    DizzKneeLand33 likes this.
  16. _ViKinG_

    _ViKinG_ BERSERKER

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    305
    Well i always play on diety. But i play on Bigger map than the original map size in game. Have you tried that? It does not work as good as civ v does with the same map size
     
  17. Leyrann

    Leyrann Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    4,015
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I've played on bigger map sizes than the normal game offers a few times. I don't see how that matters? Only way it would be different would be if you wouldn't add more civs, giving you more space in the early game. That would most certainly make the game easier as an early DoW is less likely.
     
  18. _ViKinG_

    _ViKinG_ BERSERKER

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    305
    Okey. it's longer distance for the units to move on bigger maps and they are not good at that as i can see. Pluss the civs dont build enough cities to fill up the map. In civ 5 they filled up even the giant map and could send units all over the map
     
  19. Katakanja

    Katakanja Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1,258
    So what you're saying is that you specifically use map settings that favour the player and then complain that the AI is poor? :confused:
     
  20. _ViKinG_

    _ViKinG_ BERSERKER

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    305
    well i want it to work better with bigger maps
     
    nzcamel likes this.

Share This Page