1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Tutorial: How To Add Extra Civs in v1.21

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Tutorials, Reference, & Guides' started by Montezuma, May 1, 2002.

  1. Montezuma

    Montezuma Lord of Tenochtitlan

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2001
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Kazakhstan
    Code:
    Tutorial: How To Add Extra Civs in v1.21
    ---------------------------------------------
    
    Important General Rules 
    1. Note, that limit for extra civs equal 15 (total civs number = 31). Number of them is hard coded in palettes. 
    2. Download jimmih's hacked Civ3Edit.Exe or Gramphos's MultiTool.
    3. Do backup files for altering. 
    
    Changes in YourMod.bic 
    
    1. Open your bic file with hacked civ3edit, click the 'Edit' button and Tab for
    'Civilizations' 
    2. Click Add button and enter race name. 
    3. In 'Civilopedia Entry' enter race's verbal ID (for example RACE_MONGOLS - need change Civilopedia.txt).
    4. Look 'Animations' section on this page and enter Forward & Reverse Filenames for each era with The Ruler animations found in Art\Flics.
    5. Fill ruler, cities, leaders, race etc names. Entry unique team colors both default and alternate.
    6. Tab to 'Units' page and do link common and specific units with the proper civs. 
     
    
    Changes in diplomacy.txt 
    
    For each of the #AI_Section with #civ=1 parameter add by followed formula
    (thanks for Dan Magaha) 
    
    
                                   (3 if #power == true )   (3 if #mood == true ) 
    number of lines = (N * #civ) * (         or         ) * (         or        ) * #random
                                   (1 if #pover == false)   (1 if #mood == false)
    
    
    Notes:
    
    NN -- Total number of civs
    N = (NN - 16) -- Number extra civs
    
    In followed table:
    
    ...
    #AIFIRSTCONTACT                       16 + 1 * N (add 1*N lines)
    ...
    #AIDEMANDTRIBUTE                      48 + 3 * N
    ...
    
    #AIFIRSTCONTACT -- means the label of entry
    
    for #AIFIRST... 
    16 -- number of lines in standard diplomacy.txt file
    1*N  --- number of extra lines for new civs per number of extra civs, for example for 2 extracivs 1*2 = 2 new lines
    for #AIDEMAND...                      
    48 -- number of lines in standard diplomacy.txt file
    3*N  --- number of extra lines for new civs per number of extra civs, for example for 2 extracivs 3*2 = 6 new lines sorted per civs, per 3 power, per 3 moods by #random
    
    
    
                          _ 
                _        |  random 1 
               | mood +  |  random 2 
               |         |_ random 3 
               |          _ 
       _       |         |  random 1' 
    C | power >| mood ~  |  random 2' 
    i |        |         |_ random 3' 
    v |        |          _ 
    i |        |         |  random 1" 
    l |        |_ mood - |  random 2" 
    i |                  |_ random 3" 
    z |                   _
    a |         _        |  random 1
    t |        | mood +  |  random 2
    i |        |         |_ random 3
    o |        |          _
    n |        |         |  random 1'
      | power =| mood ~  |  random 2'
    1 |        |         |_ random 3'
      |        |          _
      |        |         |  random 1"
      |        |_mood -  |  random 2"
      |                  |_ random 3"
      |
      |
      |
      | 
      | power < ...
      |
      |_
      
       _
    C |
    i |
    v |
      |
    2 |
    . |
    . |
    . |_
    
    ...
    #AIRENEGOTIATE                        18 + 0     (no add lines)
    ...
    For this kind of entry:
    18 -- are standard lines
    0  -- no add lines
    
    This is example for the entry
    
    #AIFIRSTCONTACT
    #civ 1  ; ---- need adding
    #power 0
    #mood 0
    #random 1
    "I, $AI0, Ruler of $CIVNAME1, wonder of the world, greet you." ; --- for first standard civ
    "Greetings. I, $AI0, greet you."
    ...
    ...
    "I am Great $AI0. The $CIVADJ2 people are honorable. Deal with us fairly and we shall have peace."
    "I am $AI0, of the $CIVADJ3." ; for last 16th civ
    ; - - this add new lines for extra 2 civs
    "I, $AI0, Ruler of $CIVNAME1, wonder of the world, greet you." ; --- for 17th extra civ
    "Greetings. I, $AI0, greet you." ; - - for 18th extra civ
    ...
    
    
    Now begin changes
    
    ----------------------           begin         ---------------------------
    #AIFIRSTCONTACT                       16 + 1 * N (add 1*N lines)
    #AIFIRSTDEAL                          16 + 1 * N
    #AIDEMANDTRIBUTE                      48 + 3 * N
    #AIACCEPTTRIBUTE                      48 + 3 * N
    #AIBLUFFISCALLED                      48 + 3 * N
    #AIRENEGOTIATE                        18 + 0     (no add lines)
    #AIRENEGOTIATEPEACE                   48 + 3 * N
    #AIBORDERWARNING                      48 + 3 * N
    #AIBORDERWAR                           3 + 0
    #AIDONTTEST                           48 + 3 * N
    #AIOVERLOOK                            3 + 0
    #AIWILLACCEPT                          3 + 0
    #AICOUNTERWAR                         36 + 0
    #AICOUNTERPEACE                       36 + 0
    #AINOCOUNTERWAR                       36 + 0
    #AINOCOUNTERPEACE                     36 + 0
    #AITECHTRADE                          18 + 0  
    #AILUXURYTRADE                        18 + 0  
    #AILOANOFFER                          48 + 3 * N
    #AINOLOANOFFER                        48 + 3 * N
    #AIMAPTRADE                           18 + 0
    #AINOMAPTRADE                         18 + 0
    #AICOMMUNICATIONS                     18 + 0
    #AIGIVEPEACETREATY                    48 + 3 * N
    #AIPEACETREATYTHREAT                  48 + 3 * N
    #AINOPEACETREATYTHREAT                48 + 3 * N
    #AIPEACETREATY                        48 + 3 * N
    #AINOPEACETREATY                      96 + 6 * N
    #AIMUTUALPROTECTION                   48 + 3 * N
    #AIRIGHTOFPASSAGE                     48 + 3 * N
    #AINORIGHTOFPASSAGE                    3 + 0
    #AIMILITARYALLIANCE                   48 + 3 * N
    #AITRADEEMBARGO                       48 + 3 * N
    #AIALLIANCEGREETINGS                  48 + 3 * N
    #AIPEACEGREETINGS                     48 + 3 * N
    #AIWARGREETINGS                      144 + 9 * N
    #AIGIVETRIBUTE                        48 + 3 * N
    #AIRECEIVEGIFT                        18 + 0
    #AIACCEPTWAR                          36 + 0
    #AIACCEPTPEACE                        36 + 0
    #AIWEAKREJECT                         96 + 6 * N
    #AINEUTRALREJECT                      96 + 6 * N
    #AISTRONGREJECT                       96 + 6 * N
    #AITOTALREJECT                        96 + 6 * N
    #AIREJECTTHREAT                       48 + 3 * N
    #AIREJECTBROKENDEAL                   18 + 0
    #AIREJECTINFORMEDOFBROKENDEAL         18 + 0
    #AIREJECTPASSAGEVIOLATION             18 + 0
    #AIREJECTINFORMEDOFPASSAGEVIOLATION   18 + 0
    #AIREJECTMILITARYRETRACT              18 + 0
    #AIREJECTINFORMEDOFMILITARYRETRACT    18 + 0
    #AITHANKS                             48 + 3 * N
    #AIWHATEVER                           54 + 0
    #AIPROPOSALRESPONSE                   36 + 0
    #AICOUNTERRESPONSE                    36 + 0
    #AIREJECTRESPONSE                     36 + 0
    #AIUNDERSTANDRESPONSE                 36 + 0
    #AIWILLRETREAT                        48 + 3 * N
    #AIWILLRETURNHOME                     48 + 3 * N
    -----------------------------          end           --------------------------------
    
    
    Changes in Civlopedia.txt
    
    Add race specific entries and text
    
    For example:
    
    #RACE_MONGOLS
    ^The Mongols are $LINK<militaristic and expansionist=GCON_Strengths>. They stArt the game with
    $LINK<Wheel=TECH_The_Wheel> and $LINK<Horseback Riding=TECH_Horseback_Riding> and build
    $LINK<Mounted Archers=PRTO_Mounted_Archers> instead of normal $LINK<archers=PRTO_Archer>. 
    ^
    blah-blah-blah... (first page)
    #DESC_RACE_MONGOLS
    ^
    blah-blah-blah...  (second page)
    
    For UU:
    
    #PRTO_Mounted_Archer
    ^
    ^
    ^[Mounted Archers] are highly skilled archers armed with composite bows...
    blah-blah-blah...
    #DESC_PRTO_Archer
    ^
    ^
    ^blah-blah-blah...
    
    
    Changes in  PediaIcons.txt
    
    For each of the #RACE_Section
    
    Notes:
    .pcx files must be only 256 colors palette
    KH_ in example unique lead ID for Chingiz Khan
    
    
    #START 
    #RACE_MONGOLS
    Art\Leaderheads\CL.pcx
    Art\advisors\KH_all.pcx
    
    # Happy Icons 
    #HAPPY_RACE_MONGOLS
    Art\Leaderheads\KH_HAP.pcx
    
    # Small Happy Icons
    #SHAPP_RACE_MONGOLS
    Art\Leaderheads\KH_SHAP.pcx
    
    # Large Kiss Icons
    #LKISS_RACE_MONGOLS
    Art\Leaderheads\KH_KIS.pcx
    
    # Small Kiss Icons
    #SKISS_RACE_MONGOLS
    Art\Leaderheads\KH_SKIS.pcx
    
    # Small Angry Icons 
    #ANGRY_RACE_MONGOLS
    Art\Leaderheads\KH_ANG.pcx
    
    # Small loving Icons
    #ILOVE_RACE_MONGOLS
    Art\Leaderheads\KH_CULT.pcx
    
    # Small loved Icons
    #LOVED_RACE_MONGOLS
    Art\Leaderheads\KH_CULTB.pcx
    
    # Large Beaten-up Icons
    #LHURT_RACE_MONGOLS
    Art\Leaderheads\KH_CONQ_L.pcx
    
    # Small Beaten-up Icons 
    #HURTN_RACE_MONGOLS
    Art\Leaderheads\KH_CONQ.pcx
    
    #StArt Races
    #ICON_RACE_MONGOLS
    Art\Civilopedia\Icons\Races\MONGOLSlarge.pcx
    Art\Civilopedia\Icons\Races\MONGOLSsmall.pcx
    
    For diplomacy.txt for 31 civs see attached example.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. nonnob3

    nonnob3 CHECKMATE!

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    838
    Location:
    Round Lake, (Chicago) U.S.A.
    Thank you Montezuma for be so nice to post your 15 ad Civilazation Diplomacy txt!:D
    I can't wait to add more Civilazations!
    I am going to use the information for cities and leaders from Call to power Civilazion!;)

    :goodjob:
     
  3. ragez0r

    ragez0r Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    montreal
    hey, cool but complicated **** u have up there, i have v1.17... i erased the germans (good riddance) and i added 'Poland' and im using the germans umm you know the flic files there.. whatever they are.. the animations... i edited the history in cyclopedia...
    so what else is there to do ?
     
  4. Huntzir

    Huntzir Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1
    Why germans are cool and the only race i play besides Americans.

    Oh well im mosty german so no good riddnce just another stupid mod.
     
  5. hagen

    hagen Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Pécs, Hungary
    Well, i have a question.

    Suppose we have made 16+x civilizations. I have a map, and I want every civ to have a specific starting location on it.

    I know there are tools to specify the startin locations, but i don't know if they work with more than 16 civs.

    Anybody tried yet?
     
  6. Montezuma

    Montezuma Lord of Tenochtitlan

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2001
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Kazakhstan
    hagen

    Works good for me with Gramphos's CTP util.
     
  7. Dragon Warrior

    Dragon Warrior The Shamrocks Leperchaun

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    334
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    is this the same with 1.29
     
  8. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,595
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    Great work! The file works with 1.29f, too
     
  9. Kingpin

    Kingpin Captain-General

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    699
    Location:
    Canada
    This is just the info I've been looking for. Thanks for providing this for all of us!
     
  10. LlamaGod

    LlamaGod Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Messages:
    53
    Um...why do you say good riddance Germany? They are one of the best Civs. If I was you, i'd delete something useless like the Americans or something. Du ist uber scheisse-kopf und Sie wohnen das Auto.
     
  11. Bamspeedy

    Bamspeedy We'll dig up the road!

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2001
    Messages:
    8,176
    Location:
    Amish Country, Wisconsin, USA
    Thank you for creating this! I had been wondering why when I created a new civ and met them, alot of times they wouldn't say anything (Their response would be blank instead of saying "Greetings. I, <insert name here>, greet you.")

    I had figured the rest by myself from downloading a leaderhead that was meant to replace another civ, but I wanted to make it as a separate civ instead. I did this to add the Incans and an Australian civ to make a world map more evenly spaced out. I then make sure those two are in the game and most of the others are in the game, then leave the european civs on random. (Europe is too crowded causing some civs like Germany and Rome to become little 3 city civs, while civs like China and the Aztecs are HUGE with tons of cities). Or I might take out England and Japan since they always are limited to their tiny island and by the time they can get off of it, alot of the rest of the land is already claimed. This gives all civs a more level playing field.

    Since 1.29f has the 'add new civ' feature, then C3MT isn't really needed (if you can come up with your own graphics, that is! and make sure you have graphic files for that civ in all the correct folders). Or you can just copy other civs graphics and rename them to the new civ.

    And with 1.29f you can assign certain civs to certain starting locations, so it doesn't matter which civs are playing, they should always start at their designated start location.
     
  12. TVA22

    TVA22 King

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    605
    I've followed all these directions, and added a micronesian civilization, but when I load up the scenario, and am in the screen where I pick my civ, as soon as I click micronesian, I get the illegal operation error. Did I put the flic in the wrong place? Is there a text file I'm supposed to alter to make the comp recognize this?

    I've done the editing in the editor too, so it should recognize the flics...
     
  13. Bamspeedy

    Bamspeedy We'll dig up the road!

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2001
    Messages:
    8,176
    Location:
    Amish Country, Wisconsin, USA
    Do you have a pic in the Art/civlopedia/icons/races folder for micronesia?
     
  14. Bamspeedy

    Bamspeedy We'll dig up the road!

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2001
    Messages:
    8,176
    Location:
    Amish Country, Wisconsin, USA
    Oops, sorry, that would only cause problems in the cilopedia.

    Make sure you have the .flc files in the flc folder and make sure in the editor you have the EXACT same file names for EACH era for that civ.
     
  15. KillerSheep

    KillerSheep Behhh!

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    Next to the mad cow
    Same problem here, this time with the Polynesians.
    Can someone please help out?
     
  16. CramzCiv07

    CramzCiv07 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    When you add a new race is there only certian ones and if not then is there a pic that goes with it or not
     
  17. jiveturkey93065

    jiveturkey93065 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Where you least expect me...
    Question. How do you do it without the hacked civ3edit, or where can I get the hacked civ3edit?
     
  18. KillerSheep

    KillerSheep Behhh!

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    Next to the mad cow
    If you have patch 1.29 you don't need it anymore. The civ3edit then already contains the 'add civilization' option.
     
  19. jiveturkey93065

    jiveturkey93065 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Where you least expect me...
    I should update then, huh? Thanks!
     
  20. DonStamos

    DonStamos Mobster Inc©

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    820
    Location:
    United States
    It's been a while since I last posted on the forums, but I'm having a lot of trouble trying to add a Civ to my game. I had someone save 4 pics into .flc's for me, and I just use the one file as the animations forward/reverse, then I just use one .pcx for all those requirements, and when I click on the Civ, I get the illegal op message and it closes the game out. I'm simply wondering what I'm doing wrong, since I added the TIE interceptor to the game and I have no way of checking to see if I did everything right with that unless I can get the Civ to work.

    I have CivIII v1.29f (also is the pediaicons or civilopedia supposed to have the #ANIME near the end, cuz mine doesn't)
     

Share This Page