[BNW] Warmonger Challenge Series - Game 1

consentient

Domination!
I needed a relaxing break from my intense recording schedule (I'm a musician making my 3rd album) and after looking on Steam for a suitable game, I realised I probably can't find something that I can enjoy RELAXEDLY as much as Civ 5. So I figured it's time to edge my 7k hours ever closer to the 10k mark :D

As former host of other challenge series, I feel I've learned my lessons from those. I used to get too emotionally invested in whether other people played, and what they had to say about the game. Nowadays I'm just content to post maps and if other players join, then great, and we can compare the outcomes.

Personally, I will be happy to share as much information about my strategies as other players want. Perhaps some of it will be useful :)

-

The purpose of THIS series is just to exclusively explore play centered on conflict. For every game in this series, the following will always be true:

1. The only VCs enabled will be Domination and Time. Therefore, if a player runs into issues that stop them from completing the game via a Dom sweep, there will still be the option to 'hang on in there' and end up with the highest score, with war always a looming possibility
2. The save files will be enhanced with 2 workers and 2 combat units, as well as the first 4 techs in the tree. This makes for more explosive starts, and more exciting play, without being TOO MUCH of a buff in the context of a long game
3. There will be a theme that - hopefully - enhances the story of the game a little more. Reason for this is that those among us who have played 1000s of games probably crave SOMETHING about each game making it a little unique. Some of these themes will be tongue-in-cheek or provocative, but will always (IMO) land on the side of good taste and fair game.
4. The maps will be made with Hellblazer's Map Pack, which you can find here.

With that introduction out of the way, I offer you: