• Civilization 7 has been announced. For more info please check the forum here .

What do I do from here?

Phatshady912

Chieftain
I just started playing a few days ago, and I've worked my way up to noble. Reading these boards and playing a OCC really helped me to figure out how to run an economy, but I have never really fought much before. I heard that praetoreans were good units so I decided to try out Augustus and go to town on the AI.

I spawned right next to Montezuma so(once again from reading here) I knew I should kill him before he goes for me. I got some praes and rolled im pretty easily, but by then I was behind in tech and score compared to Mansa.

I decided to try and take a few cities from Mansa and extort some techs out of him for peace, to catch up. I managed to take one city with a stack of a few praes/axes/chariots/spears, but after that he had longbows and horse archers defending his cities and I couldn't touch anymore of them.

I am still behind in tech and now I have a city from Mansa that will most likely get culture flipped.... I'm pretty lost on what to do next.

1. Make peace, work on infrastructure and surpass everyone else (I have 30%ish land and pop, compared to 2nd place at 15%)

2. Use my stack to pillage all of Mansa's improvements while I mass up catas to try and take him out.

3. Make peace with Mansa then attack one of the weaker civs like France, and take all of their land, which should get me up to around 40%/40%

This is my first Normal game on noble, I have won 2 other noble games, but 1 was a OCC and anoter was a Culture victory where you could only have 3 cities (it was a scenario I downloaded here).

Any help would be appreciated.

Attachments

• Phatshady912 AD-0760 augustus noble.CivBeyondSwordSave
    158 KB · Views: 72
I can't open Beyond the Sword saves (and I'm browsing on a cellphone anyway), but it sounds to me like your land is horribly underdeveloped. Do you have enough Workers?