1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

What if I do not want to build anything?

Discussion in 'Communitas Expansion Pack' started by Lrd Dread, Apr 27, 2012.

  1. Lrd Dread

    Lrd Dread Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    318
    I am playing a King Level game as Siam... Money is very tight in this game..
    I keep having to build something and almost everything on the list costs maintenance fees. I wish you could build gold like you can on Civ 3.
     
  2. Herex

    Herex Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Until you research Currency and learn to convert :c5production: into :c5gold:, just train units and sell them (delete). Almost same effect.
     
  3. Txurce

    Txurce Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,261
    Location:
    Venice, California
    Like Herex said, you can focus on gold or research once you have the requisite (early) techs. In case you don't know, the options are below the screen showing what you can build.
     
  4. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    Get Trade sooner if you struggle for gold, then build a few villages. Sailing also gives +1:c5gold: to freshwater villages.

    It's almost always worthwhile to build more workers in the early game. Even if your city can't work all the tiles they improve right away, they can finish up sites around your current cities in preparation for the day when you can work those tiles. You can also pre-build roads in advance of your settlers to speed up getting to new city sites, then connect cities immediately once founded.
     
  5. wobuffet

    wobuffet Barbarian

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,224
    Wouldn't this be costly, because it'd require paying maintenance on those roads before the trade route becomes break-even?
     
  6. pthmix

    pthmix Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    154
    You can stop your worker from finishing them one turn before they are done. Do that for every tile you might need a road in and then take two workers and finish the entire road very fast.
     
  7. Sanguinus

    Sanguinus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    Messages:
    93
    Location:
    Germany
    You can also start building units and stop 1 turn before they are complete.
    This could also be useful in cases of "sudden conflicts" (the city remembers when you stopped).
     
  8. Txurce

    Txurce Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,261
    Location:
    Venice, California
    I'll try to keep these ideas in mind!
     
  9. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    If roads require 3 turns per tile and we're going to build a city 5 tiles from an existing road:

    • Build a city, then start building the road.
      Income starts: 15 turns.
      Cost before then: 30 :c5gold:
      .
    • Start building the road, with settler movement timed to found the city the turn the road completes.
      Income starts: 15 turns.
      Cost before then: 30 :c5gold:
      Gets our settler to the destination sooner.
    Option B is better whenever you have (or might have) idle workers, and sometimes in other situations as well (such as quick military travel). Income and cost are independent of the road-vs-city order. In other words, they don't matter for that decision. However, it's more efficient to not halt construction in a situation like this, especially if building through rough terrain. Halting construction makes it more difficult to get the settler to the target faster.
     
  10. Jorlem

    Jorlem Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    I was under the impression that you only need to pay for roads that are inside your territory. Is that incorrect?
     
  11. wobuffet

    wobuffet Barbarian

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,224
    That's a good point, Thal. For some reason that never occurred to me.

    I made a thread a while ago asking this: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=433271

    People didn't come to a consensus, but the YouTube video's pretty convincing. If anyone goes into the game and checks for themselves, please post what you find!
     
  12. rfxmills

    rfxmills Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    London, UK
    As I understand it you pay for roads in your territory, regardless of who built them, and roads in neutral territory are paid for by whoever built them.
     
  13. Seek

    Seek Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,410
    OT, but little-known fact: Workers can chop forests in enemy territory, which can be useful when besieging a city to give LOS for ranged units. It can often be worth bringing workers with you on the attack for this and to build roads to the front!:)
     
  14. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    I think the youtube vid in that post is seeing a rounding error, likely due to difficulty or speed settings.
     

Share This Page