PBEM Game Discussion, Tips and Introductions

kiwitt

Road to War Modder
There does not appear to be a thread on this so I thought I'd start one. This thread can be used to discuss PBEMs in general and any tips and also if you want to introduce yourselves

Introduction

I have been playing wargames for over 4 decades now; starting with Chess, Stratego and then onto model soldiers. Eventually I started making my own tabletop games - making my own counters and maps by hand. PC wargaming came along recently (last decade or so) and I loved the strategic overview games (now I think they are called 4X), starting with Civ II. I had played Total War: Shogun and Medieval and the rest of the later series. I much preferred Totalwar:Medieval with it Risk-Style European Map of Provinces. I did try the Paradox series of games as well, but they just seemed too complex.

Eventually I narrowed my focus to Civilization IV (including a brief trial of Civ V) and developed my own version of Road to War - Historical 1.04. And am now researching an developing 2.0 based on Road to War - Ultimate 1.1.

I am also currently researching a "Giant Modern Earth Scenario" for Earth 2010, which involves extensive research into cities and nations. I hope to have it completed in a couple of months. The map will for the basis for Road to War - Historical 3.0 - which I am considering as a World War 3.

My multi-player strengths are quite weak as I have only being playing for a few months, albeit some very complex games. Before that I played in IOT games and even GMed a couple of them. What I like about PBEMs is I can combine my skills from IOT diplomacy with my skills in wargaming and play in Civ IV (the world's best 4X game) framework with others.

Tips

Now for some tips I picked up so far

1. Don't trust anyone, they are all out to win the game
  2. Be prepared for war at all times, you will be attacked, and often when you least expect it