1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

3D Model & Motion Templates, for aspiring creators: Proposal

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Tutorials, Reference, & Guides' started by Kal-el, Aug 30, 2002.

  1. Lt_Tarantulas

    Lt_Tarantulas Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Montréal, Quebec, Canada
    I believe 3dsmax would be the way to go, as for its used mostly for games, and its easyto get nice stuff done, for a respectable time frame, also depanding if your looking at ral, or toon shaded, it works too.

    I would be willing to giveit a try for animating. im not super but im good enough


    if ppl wonder...
    they can always checkout my web site to see my stuff

    http://members.tripod.com/lt_tarantulas/


    Just need a list of what animaton to include, and an idea whats needed... so the modeler and animator (if different person)
    can communicate good, sot he end product pleases everyone.



    as for 'template' some does exist on free 3d site.. like 3dcafe.com you got loootsa places, trucks, cars, jets, boats.

    but some will needto be made from, scratch.
     
  2. OmniMower

    OmniMower Codename Synrise

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    In the middle of Sweden
    Impressive Lt_Tarantulas,
    are they made in 3D Studio Max???
     
  3. Lt_Tarantulas

    Lt_Tarantulas Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Montréal, Quebec, Canada
    yup, all my stuff is made in 3dsmax
     
  4. OmniMower

    OmniMower Codename Synrise

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    In the middle of Sweden
    Can you put textures and surfaces on models that are complete in CAD (.igs, .stl formats) . Cause that would be great!
     
  5. Kal-el

    Kal-el Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Messages:
    4,827
    Location:
    Washington DC
    And if you don't want to pay through the nose to get 3D Studio Max, there is the free alternative, not quite as good I am sure, but its free.

    Discreet Products Gmax
     
  6. Lt_Tarantulas

    Lt_Tarantulas Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Montréal, Quebec, Canada
    hmm
    should...CAD is made by Autodesk.. which brought Disccreet, max maker... i beleive we can import those. not sure about export.
    Would need to check



    and yup...gmax might work.. i have no mess with it tho..so cant say anything define
     
  7. Grey Fox

    Grey Fox Master of Points

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    8,726
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sweden
    Yes, I believe that max can import CAD models.
     
  8. OmniMower

    OmniMower Codename Synrise

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    In the middle of Sweden
    Yes they can, but since I will concentrate on the actual modelbuilding I was hoping to find someone enjoying putting Textures and Materials on them.....
     
  9. Lt_Tarantulas

    Lt_Tarantulas Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Montréal, Quebec, Canada
    here..

    just attached a screenshot, from max help file, bout autocad importing

    it works

    whats listed there is imported, whats not lsited, isnt tho.


    Omini

    I can do that. :)
    let try on a sample... if u like the results, we can always do more work.
     
  10. OmniMower

    OmniMower Codename Synrise

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    In the middle of Sweden
    Lt_Tarantula,
    Would you be interested in playing around with one of my 3D tank models and see that you come up with?

    /OmniMower
     
  11. Lt_Tarantulas

    Lt_Tarantulas Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Montréal, Quebec, Canada
    Omni: Sure :)
     
  12. OmniMower

    OmniMower Codename Synrise

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    In the middle of Sweden
    Lt_Tarantula,
    FANTASTIC! mmm.... do you got MSN or ICQ so I can send you a file???
     
  13. Lt_Tarantulas

    Lt_Tarantulas Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Montréal, Quebec, Canada
    I got icq, my number is 41766605
     
  14. Grey Fox

    Grey Fox Master of Points

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    8,726
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sweden
    Omni, I could texture something in the Future aswell. I need to get better at it.

    I'm learning Maya now (pre learning, cus we have courses in 3D, and have a new teacher who only uses Maya... so I got Maya from school, and now I'm doing 1 lesson a day from books.)

    But I know how to create UVW maps in 3DStudio Max, and I'm pretty good with PhotoShop 7.0.

    And helping you would be excellent practice on texturing for me. If I get the time ;)
     
  15. OmniMower

    OmniMower Codename Synrise

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    In the middle of Sweden
    Thanx for your offer!!! It would be great if you could assist me in the creations!
    Just tell me when u got time and Ills send you a model you can work on!
    Thanx Mate...:goodjob:
    /OmniMower
     
  16. Kinboat

    Kinboat Conan the Librarian

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,079
    Location:
    I'm home, where are you?
    This does sound like a good idea :) And I thought I'd throw my hat into the ring... Using Poser 4 and Moray I'm currently working on a human model... I plan on making a default/run/death and maybe several versions of attack... It will be a naked model that others can use to cut and paste different heads etc. I also plan on making 3 or four versions... A man/woman/musclular man/and maybe a muscular woman... I could also shrink the model for use in Fantasy mods as Goblins etc. I'm just starting out but it looks to me that I can do it with relative ease (much easier now that I have Poser :) )... I thought I'd have a sword swing/stab and a spear thrust... and then any other attacks that doesn't cover could be made to order when someone needs it... Apparently my retirement was premature :) This is a long project so don't expect it tomorrow but I thought I'd let people know what I'm doing.
     
  17. OmniMower

    OmniMower Codename Synrise

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    In the middle of Sweden
    Great to see that you didnt leave us in a rush Kinboat! :)
    Ive got a question for you, wich formats are Moray and Poser able to import?

    /OmniMower
     
  18. zulu9812

    zulu9812 The Newbie Nightmare

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    6,389
    Location:
    Athens of the North
    Poser can import 3DS files by using a plug-in, but you also need to have 3DS Max instaleld :(
     
  19. OmniMower

    OmniMower Codename Synrise

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    In the middle of Sweden
    That was to bad...
     
  20. Kinboat

    Kinboat Conan the Librarian

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,079
    Location:
    I'm home, where are you?
    Actually there is a program called 3Dwin... It allows someone to convert between many different formats... I'm currently Exporting Poser files as 3ds and then using this program to convert them into UDO objects which I can import into Moray... Are you sure you need 3dsMax? I don't and I imported a 3ds jeep file... I'm using Poser 4... with the ProPack...
     

Share This Page