1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

3D Model & Motion Templates, for aspiring creators: Proposal

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Tutorials, Reference, & Guides' started by Kal-el, Aug 30, 2002.

  1. Smoking mirror

    Smoking mirror Ships Captain

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,018
    Location:
    On mars already, waiting!
    Ive got some standard models of men, tanks, planes and horses etc..
    About the only file I can import or export is DXF. The problems are that it does not include textures- you would have to add them your self.
    Sounds like a good idea, I've recently managed to cut my cuting and pasting time in half by eliminating the "Cut" part of the action. So for me animation is not quite the pain it once was, but it still takes as long to do the rendering as it does to do the pasting because I have to do the animation "live" as I render- Once I get a proper 3d program it should be a breeze.
     
  2. Kal-el

    Kal-el Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Messages:
    4,827
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Great, this is exaclty what I was hoping to accomplish with this thread!
     
  3. Neomega

    Neomega Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    11,261
    Yes textures would be a problem..... I was thinking about that a few days ago..... because (at least with rhino) the are imported via file path name. Next time I save, I'll double check, but I am pretty damn sure rhino can save it's models in at least 20 different formats, including .3do.
     
  4. Grey Fox

    Grey Fox Master of Points

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    8,726
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sweden
    Well then...

    1 person do the moddeling.
    1 person do the texturing and
    1 person do the animation...
     
  5. OmniMower

    OmniMower Codename Synrise

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    In the middle of Sweden
    That is exactly what I mean Grey Fox, if that would be possible it would be great!! :goodjob:

    /OmniMower
     
  6. Smoking mirror

    Smoking mirror Ships Captain

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,018
    Location:
    On mars already, waiting!
    I already posted this in another thread, but no one took up the chalenge; But to get the ball rolling I'm going to post my heavy bomber model; planes are quite easy to animate so it should be a good starting point for a beginer; it doesn't include texture (I think it comes in a default orange) so someone will have to picksome.

    If any one wants any of my other models, just post a request and I'll post a DXF model.

    BomberDXF
     
  7. OmniMower

    OmniMower Codename Synrise

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    In the middle of Sweden
    Great Smoking Mirror,
    hope there is someone out there who will try it out.

    /OmniMower
     
  8. OmniMower

    OmniMower Codename Synrise

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    In the middle of Sweden
    Can you export in any other file types?
     
  9. Neomega

    Neomega Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    11,261
    I checked and rhino can import and export most 3d files, including autocad, lightwav, moray, and all the other major ones I have seen posted here.

    File formats supported by Rhinoceros 2.0: DWG/DXF(AutoCAD 2000, 14, 13, and 12 ), SAT (ACIS), X_T (Parasolid), 3DS, LWO, STL, OBJ, AI, RIB, POV, UDO, VRML, BMP, TGA, JPG, CSV (export properties and hydrostatics), uncompressed TIFF, STEP, VDA, GHS, SLC, Deep Paint 4D.

    IGES (Alias, Ashlar Vellum, AutoFORM, AutoShip, Breault, CADCEUS, CAMSoft, CATIA, Cosmos, Delcam, FastSurf, FastSHIP, Integrity Ware, IronCAD, LUSAS, Maya, MAX 3.0, MasterCAM, ME30, Mechanical Desktop, Microstation, NuGraf, OptiCAD, Pro/E, SDRC I-DEAS, Softimage, Solid Edge, SolidWorks, SUM3D, SURFCAM, TeKSoft, Unigraphics), NASA GridTool, Yamaha ESPRi.
     
  10. Boulboulgadol

    Boulboulgadol Gadol as my tanks barrels

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    306
    Location:
    Paris, France
    There are many comments here, but it's still far away fom prime KalEl's wish : have standard models !

    Could anyone post a human model ?

    It would be a great start !
     
  11. Grey Fox

    Grey Fox Master of Points

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    8,726
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sweden
    If someone could do some standard animations (skeleton) aswell, that would be awesome.
     
  12. OmniMower

    OmniMower Codename Synrise

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    In the middle of Sweden
    The only thing that could hold a standard model is the human body.
    The rest is so diff looking models between, so to make a standard model of tanks, airunits and so on wont be possible.
     
  13. Kinboat

    Kinboat Conan the Librarian

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,079
    Location:
    I'm home, where are you?
    I'm almost done with a naked human model... I've got the default, run, and death finished. I'm going to make a sword type attack and post it here somewhere... Then I thought I'd do a few more different attack styles... Or maybe just wait for a request. next couple of days and I'll post it.
     
  14. Kal-el

    Kal-el Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Messages:
    4,827
    Location:
    Washington DC
    would love to see several attack styles.

    I would love to see a martial artist unit eventually. think Bruce Lee :D
     
  15. Kinboat

    Kinboat Conan the Librarian

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,079
    Location:
    I'm home, where are you?
    I was just thinking that... Now I'm just posting the FLC files... The actual Moray files are huge, so it's only really useful for cut and paste editing. I'm trying to find a way to shrink the files size so i can post the actual Moray file for anyone who uses that, but I'm not sure if it's possible.
     
  16. OmniMower

    OmniMower Codename Synrise

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    In the middle of Sweden
    Kinboat,
    how do you export your 3D animations from the prg to pcx. Or do you just take "snapshots" at the animation into pics and then paste them into an animation...if you know what I mean?
     
  17. Kal-el

    Kal-el Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Messages:
    4,827
    Location:
    Washington DC
    I am going to start a new thread just for unit models, skins, animations, etc. Otherwise I think they will get lost here.
     
  18. Kal-el

    Kal-el Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Messages:
    4,827
    Location:
    Washington DC
  19. Kinboat

    Kinboat Conan the Librarian

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,079
    Location:
    I'm home, where are you?
    In Moray you can set what image format the renders are saved in... I just save them in BMP and then open that file in an image editor and paste it into the PCX I get out of Flicster. So for an animation I render each frame individually and paste it into the PCX then render the next frame etc. Any other questions?
     
  20. Grey Fox

    Grey Fox Master of Points

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    8,726
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sweden
    In 3D studio Max you can actually render a animation into .FLC's.. I don't know how the result will be but I will look into it.
     

Share This Page