1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[UNIT] 3rd Generation Advanced MBTs M1a2, Type-10, K2

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Unit Graphics' started by kine100, Jun 25, 2019.

  1. kine100

    kine100 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2019
  2. Sword_Of_Geddon

    Sword_Of_Geddon Mysterious Jungle Warrior

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    13,466
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New England, USA
    Very nice units. Come to expect this quality from you. Great work!
     
  3. kine100

    kine100 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Thanks for the words.
    now, planning to make modern fleets for several civs.
    I do not see many of naval units here.
     
  4. Sword_Of_Geddon

    Sword_Of_Geddon Mysterious Jungle Warrior

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    13,466
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New England, USA
    Yeah there aren't many modern ships, your right about that.
     
  5. MatteM

    MatteM Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    213
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stockholm
    I rigged the Type 10 so the turret rotates and barrel recoils

    I had some problems with the the other two models when separating the parts unfortunately with missing triangles
    of the mesh:

    m1a2.jpg

    k2.jpg

    Don't know why this happens.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. MatteM

    MatteM Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    213
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stockholm
  7. kine100

    kine100 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    K2, I had same problems and I simply soved it with material adjust function in nifskope by the chance...
    I dun know why but it is ok in blender and output.
    Try the slider to the lighter side if it is located on dark side(sounds like a jedi thing...)
    for M1a2 I modified the modernarmor in original game and it is ok in blender and game.. starange..

    I will bring the guys in blender and see what I cand do~
    and May I ask to share your outputs when done..??

    Capture02.JPG
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2019
  8. kine100

    kine100 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    I have same K2 model from somewhere and I was going to use but I figured it has K2 skin on K1's body..
    So, I decided to make my own K2..:crazyeye:
     
  9. Walter Hawkwood

    Walter Hawkwood RI Court Painter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,287
    Location:
    London, UK
    Since you're posting all the K2s here, and I've been working on it, you've practically forced my hand! :lol:

    K2.jpg

    Here's mine - it's fully animated (modern armor anims), the model is ok, if a bit heavy-ish (though not more so than the ones you posted).

    BTW, kine100, if you have 3dsMax at hand, I could give you a quick primer on how to animate stuff - it's not that complicated if you know what to do, especially with mechanical units. Your stuff is great, and would be even better if properly animated.
     

    Attached Files:

    • K2.7z
      File size:
      58.8 KB
      Views:
      34
  10. kine100

    kine100 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Thanks a lot for your job and it will be great thing to get the animation know-how.
    I have some units waiting for proper animations which I do not know.. without the animations they are just walking tin cans on the battle field.
    Also, I am trying to reduce the weight of the models and it is design matter.
     
  11. Walter Hawkwood

    Walter Hawkwood RI Court Painter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,287
    Location:
    London, UK
    Right, so I will happily give you a brief rundown of how animating civ 4 stuff in 3dsMax works - if you have it, let's take this to PMs so as not to clutter unit release threads. Then you will no longer have to cut models to parts... :)
     
  12. MatteM

    MatteM Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    213
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stockholm
    Good to see you guys worked it out and awesome k2 from Walter as well I didnt realise the model I had was a K1. I’m currently abroad on a longer business trip so wont be able to do any modding til next weekend.
     
  13. kine100

    kine100 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Now, the 3 models are updated with animations.
    They do their job, now.

    Thank you~
     

Share This Page