A little help for a beginner please

Polonius

Warlord
OK, I lied – what I really need is a LOT of help please! 

I am brand new to Civ and still struggling to understand the complexities of this amazing game.

I am current playing the 8 civ tutorial (Chieftain) and have reached 1580 A.D. For the first section of the game I did well and stayed consistently a little ahead of the best of the visible pack (there are still 2 civs unrevealed, and my neighbours the Russians just wiped out the Zulu).

Somewhere around 700 AD things started to slide and it is now fairly clear that I am going to get wiped. The Babylonians and Russians have now pulled ahead of me in score (I’m the Persians).

The odd thing is that I have the top 3 cities plus the 5th one. I have built 7 Wonders to Babylon’s 1 and everybody else’s 0. And am set to win the race to the next one. I score around 130 culture points per turn, which looks good at this size of map, but also seems way short of what would be needed to ever amass the 100,000 for a Culture win. My 9 cities look well improved with roads, irrigation, mines, temples, libraries etc . Corruption is low, but unhappiness has suddenly started to surge. Babylon, who appears to have a better army than mine is now also expanding its culture graph and pushing mine backwards with every turn (which surprises me, as I expected to be still winning the culture race easily).

I have 90 citizens in my cities – which seems to be higher than everyone else. Yet I’ve clearly failed to recognise the need to do change my tactics (moderate army, good culture and improvements) some while back.

I stayed with the original government (and recently jumped straight to Democracy) and I also failed to locate any iron and build immortals until quite recently. Both of these may have been errors!? I am also penned in a peninsula and I can see that Babylon has a larger land area and slightly more cities (although their total population is smaller).