AI amphibious assault

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Maydrock, Jul 26, 2007.

  1. Maydrock

    Maydrock Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    328
    Location:
    CT
    If anybody out there is wondering can the AI perform a sea attack, check this pic out.



    Hannibal's second stack to the north has 4 frigates and 2 galleons. He also had a third stack coming down from the north that's not visible that had another 3 galleons. That's a total of 25 ships with a potential of 52 land units! Each one of us was on the SE side of our respective continent. He sent his forces north around my continent to back door me. I had just started pumping out modern naval units. But his big mistake was attacking my naval yard that could produce a cruiser every turn and like 4 battleships every 5 turns. He didn't have open borders with Hatty and I had a 2 transports coming up from the south. Luckily I had just enough units to block his units from getting to the coast. He did surprise me though. Good stuff.
     
  2. icantdrawanime

    icantdrawanime Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    66
    In my game Mehemed attacked Elizabeth from another continent and right after I heard war trumpets I heard the screams of running citizens... he captured one of her island city groups in 3ish turns. I was impressed.
     
  3. Otto von B.

    Otto von B. Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Yap Lector is a tough guy^^
    But has somebody seen the AI using the blockade system yet?
    BTW AI always harrases me with their pirates, very annoying but clever somehow.
     
  4. p dandy

    p dandy Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    365
    Does Hatty have open borders with Hannibal? It's understandable if they flank you if they don't have open borders.

    In this situation, if Hannibal does have open borders with Hatty, does he still flank you? Does he initiate a 2 pronged attack?
     
  5. Maydrock

    Maydrock Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    328
    Location:
    CT
    Na, him and Hatty have been dooking it out all along. He took couple cities from Hatty on one attack, but she kicked him off the continent long time ago.
     
  6. Zhahz

    Zhahz PC Gamer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,615
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I have. I don't recall specifically but I think an AI I was genociding did blockades on cities I'd take that weren't out of resistance yet - but at least it shows they do use blockades.
     
  7. DemonMaster

    DemonMaster A.K.A. Fenhorn

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,648
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sweden
    On one map I played on I had over half my cities on islands (one of the new map scripts) and the damn portuguese had numerous frigates that blockaded my island cities. My problem was that I was rather late with my frigates (and lost the few I had in the war with him) so he got naval superiority (or supremacy in this case) over me. That was a hard bargain peace.
     
  8. Ellada

    Ellada Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    EU
    What difficulty setting where you using Maydrock?
     
  9. Maydrock

    Maydrock Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    328
    Location:
    CT

Share This Page