1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Akula Class Attack Sub

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Unit Graphics' started by snafusmith, May 8, 2006.

  1. snafusmith

    snafusmith Unit Maker

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,549
    Location:
    I've been everywhere, man
    25TH NEW UNIT!!!!!!!!!

    I don't know what it is about modern subs, but they're fun and easy to make...

    The Akula:

    Info: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Akula_class_submarine
    Poly: 632
    fscale: 0.65

    It uses the submarine animations, so please point to the submarine.kfm file in your XML.

    ENJOY!

    -Smitty
     

    Attached Files:

  2. MaxRiga

    MaxRiga Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,274
    Location:
    Riga/Montreal
    oh man, you are the best !!!!!!!!
    already in my MOD as Russian sub vs your LosAngeles SSN :))) ... please, keep working on ur units !!!!

    P.S. Gonna make picture collection of the units in my mod on my website soon ;) All authors/units makers will be noted :)))

    P.S

    please, if you so good in naval units, could you make ohio battleship for USA and Sovremeniy class battleship for Russia???? really need this special naval units for my mod !!!!
     
  3. Khai

    Khai Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    175
    What a sexxay beast!
     
  4. zeysoft

    zeysoft Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Llagostera (Catalonia)
    Good job snafusmith
     
  5. adamamri

    adamamri Vive les frites!!! lol

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    Belgium
    you are great....
    respect....
     
  6. Drogear

    Drogear Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    508
    Location:
    Sweden, Umeå
    great work! Im just hopping for a solid scen to make use of all these exellent units.
     
  7. Thomas P

    Thomas P Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Hello, I've got trouble with akula and other subs. I can see the subs in the game, but they are pink! Does anybody know the reason? What does "Poly: 632" mean? Is it important for me?

    When I was looking for a solution, I saw that the original submarine.dds has got an alpha channel, but akula.dds, ohio.dds, ... haven't got. Why not? Could that be the reason?

    Thanks.
     
  8. snafusmith

    snafusmith Unit Maker

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,549
    Location:
    I've been everywhere, man
    If it's showing up pink, just make sure that the texture file is in the folder with the .nif files. Also, make sure it's named the same way as when it was downloaded.

    Poly 632 just means that there are 632 polygons in the model. For models w/ more than 1500-2000 polys, be careful of using them with slower computers. There shouldn't be any issue with this model though, as 632 polys is about what a normal civ4 unit has.
     
  9. Can't believe I missed that :wallbash: but "Akula" is russian for Shark :D
     
  10. fitchn

    fitchn Civ Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    332
    Location:
    Delaware (USA)
    Ack! I can't seem to get it to work! I'm not getting any errors loading my mod after I put the unit in, but it continues to use the submarine graphics! I even dumped all of the submarine's support files into the Akula folder, and still no luck! My XML looks like:

    Code:
    		<UnitArtInfo>
    			<Type>ART_DEF_UNIT_AKULA</Type>
    			<fScale>0.55</fScale>
    			<fInterfaceScale>1.3</fInterfaceScale>
    			<NIF>Art/units/Akula/Akula.nif</NIF>
    			<KFM>Art/Units/Akula/Submarine.kfm</KFM>
    			<SHADERNIF>Art/Units/Akula/Submarine_FX.nif</SHADERNIF>
    			<ShadowDef>
    				<ShadowNIF>Art/Units/01_UnitShadows/BattleshipShadow.nif</ShadowNIF>
    				<ShadowAttachNode>BIP Pelvis</ShadowAttachNode>
    				<fShadowScale>0.001</fShadowScale>
    			</ShadowDef>
    			<iDamageStates>4</iDamageStates>
    			<fBattleDistance>0.55</fBattleDistance>
    			<fRangedDeathTime>0.31</fRangedDeathTime>
    			<bSmoothMove>1</bSmoothMove>
    			<fAngleInterpRate>720.0</fAngleInterpRate>
    			<bActAsRanged>0</bActAsRanged>
    			<TrainSound>AS2D_UNIT_BUILD_UNIT</TrainSound>
    			<AudioRunSounds>
    				<AudioRunTypeLoop>LOOPSTEP_SUBMARINE</AudioRunTypeLoop>
    				<AudioRunTypeEnd>ENDSTEP_SUBMARINE</AudioRunTypeEnd>
    			</AudioRunSounds>
    			<SelectionSound>AS3D_UN_SUBMARINE_FORT</SelectionSound>
    			<ActionSound>AS3D_UN_SUBMARINE_FORT</ActionSound>
    		</UnitArtInfo>
    I've set up a couple of other units with no problems, but I just can't get this one to work! Any help would be greatly appreciated!
     
  11. snafusmith

    snafusmith Unit Maker

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,549
    Location:
    I've been everywhere, man
    Your problem is HERE:

    <NIF>Art/units/Akula/Akula.nif</NIF>
    <KFM>Art/Units/Submarine/Submarine.kfm</KFM>
    <SHADERNIF>Art/Units/Akula/Akula.nif</SHADERNIF>

    NONE of my units have more than one kind of .nif file. The SHADERNIF should always point to the same file as the NIF. Also, none of the submarine files need to be copied over that aren't in the folder the unit comes in. The game will know were to go so long as you keep consistant with the original structure for the kfm file.

    -Smitty
     
  12. fitchn

    fitchn Civ Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    332
    Location:
    Delaware (USA)
    Thanks! Worked perfectly! I'll be putting this in my next release of CivMore (along with several other of your units)! Keep up the great work!
     
  13. Thomas P

    Thomas P Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Thank you. I can see now the layout of the akula-sub and of all the other subs. Nearly perfect. But now I've got a new problem. I tested the unit in a battle with the standard sub. Suddenly one of the akula-subs was out of the display and (as usual) a small "picture" of the sub appered. But the picture was only a pink area. Why is it just pink although I created a new button for the nuclear sub? Do I have to add a picture to "CityBar_Atlas_32.dds" ?
     
  14. fitchn

    fitchn Civ Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    332
    Location:
    Delaware (USA)
    In the Unit Info XML file only include the path to your button in the button tags; get rid of all of the commas and other values; Your icon will then show properly everywhere.
     
  15. civ_4_rox

    civ_4_rox Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Canada
    smitty you are my favourite moder of all them you are totally pro!
    I could beat myself up:hammer2:
     
  16. MaxRiga

    MaxRiga Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,274
    Location:
    Riga/Montreal
    agree, very nice model, i love to play it in my scenario ;)
     

Share This Page