Am I playing this wrong?

newtociv6

Chieftain
Newbie here. Why are there policies requiring a governor (democracy in GS) or recommendations about wonders that only apply effects to an area, like Colosseum ("Easily one of the most impactful wonders in the game")?

Playing on prince difficulty I always have like 50 cities in 200 turns and keep growing to 100+. Doesn't everyone play this way? There is simply not enough governor and any wonder that applies area effects seems like a complete waste of production.

I'm having a hard time grasping your question. You're basically asking why governors and area-limited effects are game mechanics? Broadly speaking, they're mechanics to limit the upside of spamming 50 cities on the map.

If the Colosseum simply applied to all of your cities in the game, it would be absolutely absurdly overpowered. It's already quite strong.

For your other question about why certain policies require certain governments: they made those changes for balance and flavor.

Having 50 cities isn’t playing wrong. The game encourages wide gameplay and barely punishes expansion. That certain bonuses can’t apply to all your cities doesn’t make them bad abilities, and certainly doesn’t undercut the fundamental notion that “more cities = better.”

Last edited:
Doesn't everyone play this way?
No, to people coming from earlier Civ versions 50-100 cities seems normal but the Civ V meta was a "tall" empire of 4-6 cities. In addition managing that number of cities with Civ VI UI is incredibly tedious so somewhere between 8-16 cities would be typical in VI.

Doesn't everyone play this way?
Honestly not everybody is a masochist. Managing several cities is enough. I can see how you can get 50 cities on prince, by conquering. Managing them after that is hard.
There is a different way to play as builder where you develop cities in smart way to utilize the regional effects and adjacency. The game is more than slaughter that way.