1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Amenity Question

Discussion in 'Mod Creation Help' started by SocialMechanic, Oct 14, 2019.

  1. SocialMechanic

    SocialMechanic Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 11, 2019
    Messages:
    86
    Damn, I feel bad asking so many questions...
    I'm trying to make two other stages of happiness, and the following code doesn't seem to be working:

    Code:
    <GameInfo>
       <Kinds>
           <Row Kind="KIND_HAPPINESS"/>
       </Kinds>
       <Types>
           <Row Type="HAPPINESS_EUPHORIC" Kind="KIND_HAPPINESS"/>
           <Row Type="HAPPINESS_ACTUALIZED" Kind="KIND_HAPPINESS"/>
       </Types>
       <Happinesses>
           <Replace>
               <Row HappinessType="HAPPINESS_ECSTATIC" Name="LOC_HAPPINESS_ECSTATIC_NAME" MinimumAmenityScore="3" MaximumAmenityScore="5" GrowthModifier="20" NonFoodYieldModifier="10" RebellionPoints="-1"/>
           </Replace>
           <Row HappinessType="HAPPINESS_EUPHORIC" Name="LOC_HAPPINESS_HAPPY_NAME" MinimumAmenityScore="6" MaximumAmenityScore="9" GrowthModifier="40" NonFoodYieldModifier="20" RebellionPoints="-1"/>
           <Row HappinessType="HAPPINESS_ACTUALIZED" Name="LOC_HAPPINESS_ECSTATIC_NAME" MinimumAmenityScore="10" GrowthModifier="80" NonFoodYieldModifier="40" RebellionPoints="-1"/>
       </Happinesses>
       <Happinesses_XP1>
           <Row HappinessType="HAPPINESS_EUPHORIC" IdentityPerTurnChange="12"/>
           <Row HappinessType="HAPPINESS_ACTUALIZED" IdentityPerTurnChange="24"/>
       </Happinesses_XP1>
    </GameInfo>
    
    What am I doing wrong? (note that I also have a text file with the <BaseGameText> necessary).
    I've also tried it without the "<Update>" section and it still didn't work.
    Also, I suppose it could have worked, but it just didn't visually show it was working through the display and/or tooltips

    EDIT: I did some further investigation. Does this only work if I alter color names or something? Does the HAVE to be done in LUA?
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2019
  2. LeeS

    LeeS Imperator

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    6,603
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    Base game file Happinesses.xml :
    Code:
    <GameInfo>
    	<Kinds>
    		<Row Kind="KIND_HAPPINESS"/>
    	</Kinds>
    	<Types>
    		<Row Type="HAPPINESS_REVOLT" Kind="KIND_HAPPINESS"/>
    		<Row Type="HAPPINESS_UNREST" Kind="KIND_HAPPINESS"/>
    		<Row Type="HAPPINESS_UNHAPPY" Kind="KIND_HAPPINESS"/>
    		<Row Type="HAPPINESS_DISPLEASED" Kind="KIND_HAPPINESS"/>
    		<Row Type="HAPPINESS_CONTENT" Kind="KIND_HAPPINESS"/>
    		<Row Type="HAPPINESS_HAPPY" Kind="KIND_HAPPINESS"/>
    		<Row Type="HAPPINESS_ECSTATIC" Kind="KIND_HAPPINESS"/>
    	</Types>
        ….etc...….
    
    Table "Kinds" requires every new row added to that table must have a unique designation for column "Kind". Your code here repeats what the game already has, therefore violates the uniqueness requirements of the "Kinds" table, and so nothing from within your file is implemented.
    Code:
       <Kinds>
           <Row Kind="KIND_HAPPINESS"/>
       </Kinds>
    Database.log will be showing a Uniqueness Constraint error for the mistake you made.

    Before you can know whether the game will implement a new Happiness Type you first have to fix your databasing errors. XML and SQL are both Database languages, used to add new stuff or alter existing stuff in the game's database. Your code has to successfully be added into the game database before you can begin to test for whether or not the game will implement what you are attempting.

    I've no idea whether the game's controlling DLL code is written to assume only the Firaxis supplied Happiness levels, or if it will accept new ones as I've never experimented with attempting to add new Happiness Levels.
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2019
  3. SocialMechanic

    SocialMechanic Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 11, 2019
    Messages:
    86
    I admit, I'm not totally sure what you are trying to tell me.
    So, are you saying that I need to get rid of the follow section?
    Code:
    <Kinds>
           <Row Kind="KIND_HAPPINESS"/>
       </Kinds>
    Because it repeats itself from the base file?
    I just removed this and it still isn't working >.<

    Also, I'm using ModBuddy and the Output below the coding section has never given me an error, so I'm not seeing these errors (if any).
     
  4. LeeS

    LeeS Imperator

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    6,603
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    Modbuddy dos not report code syntax errors. It only reports errors in creating files for the mod.

    You need to look at the game's Database.log to find coding errors when you attempt to run your mod in-game. Database.log is at
    Code:
    ~~ \Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization VI\Logs
    And, yes, you need to get rid of the quoted section.
     
  5. LeeS

    LeeS Imperator

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    6,603
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    And this also is incorrect and fatal syntax
    Code:
    <Replace>
               <Row HappinessType="HAPPINESS_ECSTATIC" Name="LOC_HAPPINESS_ECSTATIC_NAME" MinimumAmenityScore="3" MaximumAmenityScore="5" GrowthModifier="20" NonFoodYieldModifier="10" RebellionPoints="-1"/>
           </Replace>
    "Replace" is not a "wrapper" for "Row". Replace is used instead of Row. So the correct method would be
    Code:
    <Replace HappinessType="HAPPINESS_ECSTATIC" Name="LOC_HAPPINESS_ECSTATIC_NAME" MinimumAmenityScore="3" MaximumAmenityScore="5" GrowthModifier="20" NonFoodYieldModifier="10" RebellionPoints="-1"/>
    
     
  6. SocialMechanic

    SocialMechanic Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 11, 2019
    Messages:
    86
    LeeS, thats fantastic. Thank you for your help. It worked...
    However, though the Amenities are working, the cities description page is malfunctioning (as in, the button to the left of the other buttons that gives you the detailed amenity layout).
    The city detail thing is just completely blank >.<
     
  7. LeeS

    LeeS Imperator

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    6,603
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
  8. SocialMechanic

    SocialMechanic Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 11, 2019
    Messages:
    86
    Damn it... I do not have Lua experience at all >.<
     

Share This Page