1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[GS] Analysing a starting location

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by Pure24, Dec 21, 2019.

  1. Pure24

    Pure24 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2019
    Messages:
    191
    Not the first, but I usually don't play Legendary. I prefer the standard settings in that I think they're what the game is most 'balanced' towards, but sometimes I shake it up.
    It is only my second time starting with a random civ though. I usually like to pick whom I'll play, but I'm loving the idea of just being given which Civ I'll be using.

    I think legendary is extreme. Either it gives you a super-easy or super-hard start. On the other hand, abundant resources always make it easier. Since humans better exploit the map, the increase in the human player's advantage ends up being greater than the increase in the AI's.

    ACTUALLY... there ended up being an about 16-tile desert to south-west of the mountain.

    The desert hills also ended up having Iron
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2019
    AntSou likes this.
  2. MrRadar

    MrRadar Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,462
    Thank you! But we'll also need game and map seed numbers, locate them by mousing over the version number here, when you hit Esc in-game:
     
    Pure24 and AntSou like this.
  3. AntSou

    AntSou Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2019
    Messages:
    1,359
    That's a much easier method. Is that in vanilla or is it part of Concise UI?
     
  4. MrRadar

    MrRadar Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,462
    It’s part of the base game, no mods necessary
     
    Pure24 and AntSou like this.
  5. lotrmith

    lotrmith King

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    725
    I think adding two food to the desert hill and being able to add farms to all of the rice is enough of a reason to do this, especially with Settler spam in mind.
    Having the harbor adjacent to the city center is also huge in terms of taking full advantage of all that rice for explosive growth without hitting the housing cap.
     
    cvb likes this.
  6. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    11,313
    enough? You mean no need for more?
    No need to start working a double culture tile?
    Loss of the ability to buy out to a triple culture tile as an option?
    It’s a choice, if you want the harbour then sure, move to the iron hill.
    I hate the word best, there are alternatives depending on what you want to do.
     
  7. lotrmith

    lotrmith King

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    725
    You're the one who used the term 'best' ???

    Also I was giving an opinion based on your own analysis in terms of settler spam... Early culture is a mixed bag that will often cause you to waste culture as you hard tech through civics that you might otherwise be able to boost (and the triple culture tile is there for another city, and doesn't help this capital city pump settlers). With so many rich tiles, you want the population to work them. Settling on the desert hill is puts you down exactly 1 food per turn which is made up for when you put a farm on the rice that you would have settled on otherwise. The farm also provides more housing, as does a harbor adjacent to the city center (not possible if you settle on the first rice away from coast).

    With that start you will hit housing penalties fairly quickly which will make all the food you are working lose significant comparative value.
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2019
  8. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    11,313
    Did I, just to say I hate it, was not meaning you were saying it, no damage intended, +10hp
     

Share This Page