1. Firaxis celebrates the "Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month", and offers a give-away of a Civ6 anthology copy (5 in total)! For all the details, please check the thread here. .
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We have selected the winners of the Old World random draw and competition. For the winning entries, please check this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Ashes of Erebus Known Issues and Bug Reports

Discussion in 'Rise from Erebus Modmod' started by black_imperator, Dec 22, 2017.

  1. Alsark

    Alsark Noble

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    841
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Fort Wayne, Indiana
    Two things with 303:

    1. Hafgan's units are not getting XP when razing the city (although the auto razing does work).
    2. Razing the last rival city is not resulting in a conquest victory.


    I'm going to commit myself to trying to assist with troubleshooting with the Python problem, as it effects me. I'm finding world builder often won't load, so that'll be my go-to testing point, since I'm sure the other interface problems are related. Sorry to be wordy here, but I'm just going to info dump since I don't know what will or won't be helpful.

    So I completely wiped out my 302 folder and redownloaded 303 via SVN. I also cleared my cache (and did so multiple times during this troubleshooting process). I ran with debug enabled and also had Process Monitor running to try to see what's going on in the background. I have the default modules enabled, and tried world builder both through the AoELauncher and by just launching BTS -> Load mod; the problem happens either way.

    When opening World Builder, I get the attached in-game Python error. PythonErr.log says the same, but with an additional "ERR: Python function showWorldBuilderScreen failed, module CvScreensInterface".

    I filtered Process Monitor with two separate filters: CvScreensInterface and CvWorldBuilderScreen. Both results were basically the same. When the game loads, there is no difference between what will be a working and non-working world builder (at least, not when it comes to these two Python files). When world builder is first open, I get a bunch of "H:\SteamLibrary\steamapps\common\Sid Meier's Civilization IV Beyond the Sword\Beyond the Sword\CvScreensInterface" "no such file messages" (screenshot attached; I only included two of the no such file messages, but it goes on for awhile). If world builder opens successfully, neither of these files are referenced in process monitor. I also filtered by CvGameCoreDLL.dll in the mod folder, but didn't see anything interesting there.

    I started a new game using "Play Now" and, multiple times, World Builder worked. I can, without needing to exit to desktop, load between the two saves and the Play Now save world builder will work - the custom game one won't. I've attached both saves, "WB Broken Hafgan" (which will also allow testing the two Hafgan bugs at the top of my post) and "WB Working Play Now".

    Nothing is super standing out to me in the process monitor between the two saves except the broken game tries to create "\\eye.dds\" and "\\nec2.dds", each resulting in "object path invalid" errors... but I'd doubt that's what would be breaking everything?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. legionof1

    legionof1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    Welp more CTD. RV 303 svn. figured i try update and see if i couldn't finish another game, no such luck. CTD after ending turn. But not right away some combats occur then it dies. Compared to the last post i made i'm running fewer moduals. Only packaged one minus hamstlfar and greatest people.

    Cleared cache, backed up a few turns and tried to vary things. Turned on various logging and debug options this time around, but all they got me was a 2G crashdump file.

    Barely made it past 100 turns this time. :wallbash:

    Oh well, on to another round see if i get lucky.

    Edit: this issue seems to affect every game i try now. Unavoidable crash around turn 100 give or take. Short of reinstalling Civ 4 BTS(something i would rather not do given my low quality intenet) I don't know what to try. I finished 2 games on rv 302 without substantial issue, then the python bug appeared so i reinstalled via sourceforge to get rid of that. Then 200ish turn Illians game i posted about before happend. Updated to rv 303 and now down to 100ish turns.

    :help::help::help::help:
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 2, 2018
  3. dripdrip

    dripdrip Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Messages:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Seoul
    Still playing r302. Enion's defender trait does not seem to give units Homeland promotion. No unit got it until turn 150.
     
  4. black_imperator

    black_imperator Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,872
    Ok, progress for once, the worldbuilder error message led me to a thread from 2013 in C2C subforums where they seemed to have a similar issue. Will read through it to see if it got fixed.
     
  5. black_imperator

    black_imperator Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,872
    So apparently, their similar python issues may have disappeared after doing a large-scale xml cleanup using their validating tool. So i did the same, we'll see if that improved anything ( commit 304)
     
  6. Nor'easter

    Nor'easter Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,728
    When we post things here, such as Python exceptions, would it be helpful to also list the game settings we're using? (I also post crash dump files, since usually the crashes are too irregular to be able to post a saved game from right before the crash.) I ask because I play with specific game and map settings, so is it possible that those are affecting what happens?
     
  7. black_imperator

    black_imperator Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,872
    yes, it'd be helpful.
     
  8. Alsark

    Alsark Noble

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    841
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Fort Wayne, Indiana
    Still getting the same world builder Python exceptions on 304 with a new custom game. I cleared the cache and tried again, but got the same error.

    Game settings (as displayed in-game):
    Leader: Hafgan
    Difficulty: Settler
    Map: ErebusContinent (Duel size, temperate, medium sea level, high cohesion, advanced terrain on, smart climate off, ancient city ruins off, "Default" for all settings where that's specified)
    Speed: Quick (ancient starting era)
    Options: Flavour Start
    Rivals Met: Elder Malasa of Hamstalfar
    Victory Types: Everything but the "quick" victories
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 3, 2018
  9. TheIO

    TheIO Bugged

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    177
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    Revision 304.

    Used to not get WB errors.

    wb.png

    Now I do.
     
  10. black_imperator

    black_imperator Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,872
    can you stop transferring the errors between each other each time i attempt a fix please ? ^^

    More seriously, any progress on the rest of the python errors ?
     
  11. TheIO

    TheIO Bugged

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    177
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    Only had the on-startup event spam once out of five so far, and in that case the game crashed before it loaded the map.

    Should note (RE previous post) that it ends up looking like this afterwards:
    Spoiler :
    wbremains.png

    but if I click on one of the mana icons (to open Pedia) then exit I can then access the menu.

    EDIT: Ofc I say that then get the spam. Should note that the spam is for C++ exceptions rather than Python (at least in that instance) - if it comes up again I'll take screenshots.

    EDIT2: Got a game-crashing spam again. C++ exceptions in the ErebusContinent mapscript apparently.

    EDIT3: Setup a WorldOfErebus game and had no WB problem.
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2018
  12. dvshi

    dvshi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    My attempt to fix problems like python error/no interface/CTD on map generating/happiness icon missing etc (Win 10, steam version Civ4):

    1. Change my Windows locale to English (my native language isn't English);
    2. Right-click Civ4:BtS in Steam, click "Properties" -> "Betas" tab -> choose "original_release_unsupported";
    3. Set both AoELauncher.exe (in AoE mod folder) and Civ4BeyondSword.exe (in BtS folder) to run as administrator and under Win7 compatibility mode;
    4. Run the game using AoELauncher.exe. Problem solved!
     
  13. black_imperator

    black_imperator Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,872
    ah, that's an interesting news. Thanks for the info. can you keep us updated if there's another issue popping up ?
     
  14. dvshi

    dvshi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    I played on a large map on epic till ~turn 350 before I went to sleep. No issues so far.
     
  15. Nor'easter

    Nor'easter Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,728
    A few more crash dump files attached. This is from SVN Revision 304. If it helps, I'm using Windows 10, *not* using the Steam version of BtS but the standard one.

    Here's the sequence of events (in all cases I used the AoE Launcher to start the mod):

    First I did a "Play Now" game and got a bunch of python exceptions at startup, resulting in no UI, so exited to Desktop.

    Did a second "Play Now" game and was able to start a new game without any problems. I exited to Desktop to try to start with my preferred options (listed further down).

    Started a new Custom Game with my preferred options, which include End of Winter, but the world didn't start frozen. So exited to Desktop again and started another Custom Game with the same options. This time the game started up successfully but crashed when I founded my first city. I tried to reload the Autosave from Turn 1 to see if I could replicate the CtD but this time the mod wouldn't load, but crashed -- that happened twice., so the attachment has three Crash Dump files.

    My Custom Game options are the following, if it helps:

    Default Modules

    Map: Tectonics 316
    Map Size: Huge
    Era: Ancient
    Speed: Normal
    Landmass Type: 60% Water
    Aridity Level: Random
    Team Start: Team Neighbors
    Twelve Civs to start (instead of the default 11 for a Huge map, since I start with more land area)

    Raging Barbarians
    End of Winter
    Wildlands
    Blessing of Amathaon
    Living World
    Wild Mana
    Feral Mana
    Mana Guardians
    No Liberation
    All Unique Features
    Broader Alighments
    Dark Forests
    Restrict Random Civilizations -- I Lock the Hamstalfar. Frozen are Locked because of No Liberation

    I do not use the Flavour Start option.

    Default Victory Conditions.

    Hope that's helpful.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. black_imperator

    black_imperator Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,872
    Can you try @dvshi 's method to see if there's an improvement ?
     
  17. Nor'easter

    Nor'easter Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,728
    Well I skipped steps 1 and 2, because my Windows is already in English and I have the non-Steam version of BtS, so did only steps 3 and 4. Successfully started a "Play Now" game, then exited to Desktop and successfully started a game using my preferred Custom settings and was able to found my first city without a crash. Played a few turns, exited to Desktop and then reloaded my most recent Autosave (starting the game using the AoE Launcher) and again no crash. It's only a few turns, but so far so good. Won't be playing too much today, I don't think, but at least for now this seems to be working.
     
  18. Nor'easter

    Nor'easter Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,728
    Python exception, screenshot attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. black_imperator

    black_imperator Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,872
    ah that one's interesting, it seems there's a city that has OO and yet has no religion.

    can i get the save file ? (and the modules you're using ?)

    also, is it repeatable ?

    finally, if can't run it due to memory issue, can i give you a dll to test it ?
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2018
  20. Nor'easter

    Nor'easter Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,728
    Actually, I quit that game, not because of the python issue -- it didn't cause the game to crash -- but because my second city got razed and I didn't think my capital would hold out against the barbarians, so decided to start a new game. Sorry, that means I don't have the save. I was just using the default modules. And yes, that particular python exception did repeat. I would first click on "OK," then on "Cancel" at the bottom of the screen, at which point the standard Religion Adviser screen would appear.
     

Share This Page