Average player seeking to improve

Alashiya

Warlord
HI,I'm not a complete newbie to Civ 6 I'm trying to resolve weak points and mistakes in my game play and I've made the switch to Canada after playing as Scotland for quite some time

my first question is
  1. Should I settle at the very starting point where my settler first appears?

Should I settle at the very starting point where my settler first appears?
There is a zillion tips on this on youtube and many have a slightly different take.
Moving 1-2 turns is fine even 3 for a very tgood tile but you are losing time (production and growth) by doing so, therefopre your move needs to be worth it.
So for example your city is going to make 6 production per turn but by moving for 2 turns you can make 7 per turn... you just lost 12 production but also gained +1 for the rest of the game.
Settling on anything that is not destroyed... which provides more than 2 food 1 production gives that advantage.
Also better tiles within the first 2 rings of your city
Just beware hills make you more visible (you can be seen from 3 tiles while can only see 2 tiles yourself) and moving may move you closer to another civ which may get quite annoyed.

I allready post a topic about it but let me copy paste it to here also for you. Hope those will help.

1- Starting location – Choosing Capital City location
In general, if there will be minimum one luxury resource near your borders it is a great benefit. In the beginning of the game when you have only 1 city, luxury resource can be traded for money with other civs and boost your economy. (Later in the game you need those precious luxuries for amenity)

Don’t loose so much time settling your first city. Usually, maximum 1-2 tile away of your start location you should settle. In order to move 2 turns without making your city, there must be god like resources. If the place you started is so much bad just restart the game for a better starting position.