BEFORE you publish or download a Mod, PLEASE READ

I'm brand new to using mods and have zero programming skills. I found several mods I like; HROCHland's sea factory, et al., and several new Wonders (Sydney Opera House, Las Vegas Strip). How do I install and use them together?

The right way isn't working for me. I downloaded both Fall from Heaven and Rise of Mankind. I installed both to my Bts/Mods folder. Neither of them is displayed as a choice when I go to the "Load a Mod" menu. I don't understand what's going on here!

THE FAQ NEEDS TO BE UPDATED

I just found out through searching my computer, after having problems clearing the game cache (I would remove the contents in USER\Application Data\My Games\ but even so the cache persisted!), that there may be (in my case there defintely was) cache hidden in User\Local Settings\Application Data\My Games too!

People having trouble clearing their cache ought to advised and check this possibility out.

Thanks for an otherwise highly helpful guide.

~ Kris

I made this post in an other thread, but it's probably of just as much use here (if any). Here goes:

So anyway, I wrote up this nice little batch script that should clear all Civ4 caches (for sure).
Spoiler :
Code:
@echo off
:: Set Silent to 1 to always run silently...
set silent=0
:: Analyze any potential argument...
if %silent%==1 goto skipbs
if %1.==. goto bs
if %1==s goto set_silent
if %1==silent goto set_silent
if %1==-s goto set_silent
if %1==-silent goto set_silent
if %1==/s goto set_silent
if %1==/silent goto set_silent
if %1==h goto help
if %1==help goto help
if %1==-h goto help
if %1==-help goto help
if %1==/h goto help
if %1==/help goto help
goto bs
:set_silent
set silent=1
goto skipbs
:bs
cls
@echo. +---------------------------------------------.
@echo. :                                             :
@echo. : Civilization IV - Clear Caches Batch Script : 
@echo. :  Script by: krille @ CivFanatics.com, 2008  :