1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[BETA] Rules of Engagement : Stalingrad

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Scenarios' started by Gedemon, Oct 17, 2010.

  1. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,389
    Location:
    France
    yes, each unit is setting the territory around it as owned by the unit's player (hexes with another unit or city are not claimed, but those around the city itself are).

    the territory is claimed at the end of the turn, so that units did not move only in friendly territory.

    with (I hope) the inclusion of supply lines, and (almost done) retreat feature, it will allows some interesting moves... (especially for pvp when mods will be available in multi)
     
  2. jaldaen

    jaldaen Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    467
    Very cool, I'll have to download this just to see how the claiming of territory works... what files should I look at?

    Thanks,
    joseph
     
  3. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,389
    Location:
    France
    2 functions in the RulesOfEngagement.lua file : UpdateFrontLine() and ChangeAdjacentPlotsOwner()
     
  4. jaldaen

    jaldaen Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    467
    Thanks a bunch!
     
  5. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,389
    Location:
    France
    new version uploaded ! :D

    with savegame fix and inclusion of the retreat function.

    see first post for details, available in game mod browser and civfanatics database
     
  6. Milaga

    Milaga Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    470
    Civ5 won't install this module for some reason. It creates the directory but leaves the civ5mod file in place and doesn't extract any files. Extracting the files manually with WinRAR works fine.

    I think. We'll see. Can't wait to try this.
     
  7. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,389
    Location:
    France
    atm the online tool is makking my modbuddy crash after a few minutes... don't know if it's related. I've made the mod private waiting for a solution. Manual installation is possible, just extract the content of the mod files directly in the empty folder created.

    note: the content is extracted by civ5, put in "...\AppData\Local\Temp\Civ5ModInstaller", but not copied in the folder after !
     
  8. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,389
    Location:
    France
    fixed by removing the ":" from the mod name... database link and ingame mod browser versions updated.
     
  9. Paasky

    Paasky Good News Everyone!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,062
    Location:
    Vantaa, Finland
    I'm very interested at this, especially the event stuff. Just downloaded, will have a look when I get back from work.

    Besides, now with 1UPT and hexes civ can be used very well for these sorts of battle-scenarios :)
     
  10. Paasky

    Paasky Good News Everyone!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,062
    Location:
    Vantaa, Finland
    Bug Report: I had a Russian Infantry capture one of my cities by retreating into it, not fun :mad:
     
  11. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,389
    Location:
    France
    oups, sorry, I didn't thought of this one !

    I'll put another check so that you can only retreat in owned city.
     
  12. Craxymaxy

    Craxymaxy Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    I love this, i've been waiting for a tactical map for Civ 5 ever since i played the horrible vanilla lol
    One thing i noticed is that the area around Stalingrad; the factories and such still have the -33% def penalty, is this supposed to be like this?
    Also another note, wasn't Stalingrad equally extensive on the east side of the river? (i could be wrong)
     
  13. Paasky

    Paasky Good News Everyone!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,062
    Location:
    Vantaa, Finland
    Captured the last Russian city with 3 turns to go :)

    Very nicely balanced, I had a few "oh poop!" moments when I had just barely managed to capture a few cities, and boom huge masses of Russians everywhere.
     
  14. primordial stew

    primordial stew Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,219
    Location:
    a puddle
    hey Gedemon,

    While in the SDK, can you change it so hit points is per unit?

    Consider how robust the German bombers are. With all that AA and even the late fighters I've never lost 1, though when they get to 50% I do rest them (with a worker by for really quick healing).

    The damage they do seems reasonable, but I'd guess are far more helpful than they were in 1942. You might be able to balance the strengths better, but just giving them only 15 hit points
    would make them much more fragile.
     
  15. kolerick

    kolerick Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    well well well... seeing a mod like that call other big battles that were "siège"-like...

    Verdun, dien bien phu, (some equivalant for usa vs vietnam), hiwo jima (taking an island from the ocean ... now that could be epic)
    for verdun, can even make the mains fort as little cities...
    antic? gimme the siège of Troie, syracuse...
    medieval and rennaissance? jerusalem, of course (well, actually, the whole holy land), Vienna, and some other...
    guess this could make good material for the actual game... till a MOO mod show up ;p
     
  16. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,389
    Location:
    France
    mmm, no, check if another mod is activated, factory give + 50% defense (means +83factory -33tile)... What's in the combat preview ?

    afaik the main city is west of the Volga.

    ;)

    nop, can't change the HP per units, must play on strenght and bonus/malus. I may add malus (against AA and fighters) to bomber then. And Russia should get Il2 at some point, diverting germans fighters to protect the panzers...

    I'm working on my Giant Earth Map atm, but I'm noting all suggestions, and yes, I hope to finish this scenario (fix retreat, add supply lines), add some kind of victory check then maybe start work on another one...
     
  17. Garett20

    Garett20 Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    429
    Location:
    Toronto,Canada
    First off, great scenario, I haven't actually finished it yet, it takes forever to move all my units. Second: What are your ideas for the supply line function?
     
  18. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,389
    Location:
    France
    something simple (to say) : check all units at turn start/end and any units which is not connected to a friendly city via friendly territory will get malus (can't heal, then attack/defense penalty if the supply line is not reopen after a few turns)
     
  19. Garett20

    Garett20 Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    429
    Location:
    Toronto,Canada
    Okay, you ha dthe same idea as I did.By the way, can I use the territory claiming with units thing in another mod?
     
  20. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,389
    Location:
    France
    sure you can, just remember to give credit please :)
     

Share This Page