Beware the ManO'War

patinthedesert

Chieftain
I started playing Civ3 again, after many years. I play Civ 3 Complete on Steam. I am not any master player like many of you here - more of a casual player. Since I don't recall some of the ins and outs of how the various civs work I have had a couple of surprises. I played a recent game I wanted to comment on. I played a standard-size map at Warlord or Regent. It was set to continents and 70% water. When I saw most of the map later it had 3 continents and a couple of mini-continents and a few islands. There were 2 other civs on my continent. On initial expansion I ran into Egypt right away. After 2 wars I had destroyed them. The other civ was the Portugese. They had a weak position and I kept peace with them. Exploring at the stage of galleys showed me that the English occupied a nearby mini-continent and there were some other lands beyond that. By the way I was playing the Ottomans.