1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

BTS Patch version 3.03!

Discussion in 'News Updates' started by Methos, Aug 13, 2007.

  1. Methos

    Methos HoF Quattromaster Super Moderator Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    13,100
    Location:
    Missouri
    Firaxis has released the 3.03 patch for Civ4: Beyond the Sword. The patch is accessible through your in-game Advanced menu or from 2K Games website. The known changes are:
    • Microsoft Fix for Manifest Requirements
    • DirectX 9.0c June Version Included
     
  2. SHADOW-XIII

    SHADOW-XIII Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    London
    I hope they included all needed fixes ....
     
  3. MacGyverInSpace

    MacGyverInSpace Monarch

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    312
    Location:
    a.k.a. a.a.5, toasters. . . .
    Yeah, whats the point of whiping a patch like this? It looks like it has no gameplay changes. It will just throw off multiplayer again.

    ..But its huge...
     
  4. jkp1187

    jkp1187 Unindicted Co-Conspirator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,496
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    Any comments on whether or not this is backwards-compatible with saves?
     
  5. jkp1187

    jkp1187 Unindicted Co-Conspirator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,496
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
  6. ggganz

    ggganz a.k.a. The Scyphozoa

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,485
    Location:
    Sector 5
    All patches are.

    And why didn't they fix the multiplayer bug where you can't play with customassets???
     
  7. KieranC

    KieranC Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    Canada
    They Should send out a patch to help with lag times between turns in later game.
     
  8. ggganz

    ggganz a.k.a. The Scyphozoa

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,485
    Location:
    Sector 5
    That WAS improved with the release of BtS! If you didn't notice it, then it wasn't even worth doing.
     
  9. KieranC

    KieranC Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    Canada
    I'm still getting massive lag times in late game on a large map. Longer than the original civ 4 had in late game.
     
  10. Looshi

    Looshi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    I just think that's an effect of the new BTS AI. It seems like it would take more processor power to run. A fair trade off, if you ask me.
     
  11. KieranC

    KieranC Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    Canada
    You're right but there must be something to help. I'm sitting at the computer looking at a waiting for other civilizations screen for a minute after each turn. longer if another leader wants to talk to me.
     
  12. CivAgamemnon

    CivAgamemnon King

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    813
    Location:
    Earth. Unfortunately.
    This appears totally useless. I have no problems with the game other than the problem with BlueMarble graphics. If it doesn't fix this or address gameplay issues, it's not much of a patch. I'll pass and wait for the next one.

    And I wish they'd fix the customassets regarding graphics. ::annoyed::
     
  13. Cabay Jet

    Cabay Jet Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    279
    All I want to know is how come a beta tester (Solver) who wasn't affiliated with the programmers of Civ IV (to the best of my knowledge) can single handedly fix more bugs than a professional programming team in the space of a week. Even when the programming team has 3 weeks instead of one, they still get outperformed. It just seems ridiculous to me. Absolutely ridiculous. This may be the last game I buy from Firaxis, its not that I don't like Civ IV BtS, on the contrary, I love it. It's just the way that Firaxis has a way of releasing games before they are ready and handling patches for said games, I'm sick of it to be frank. Civ IV vanilla had more bugs then my grandmother's barn, and even though BtS had many less bugs when it came out than vanilla civ IV there are still enough to be noticeable during normal game play, and this patch solves little as far as I can see.

    *huff* *huff* *pant*

    That's all.
     
  14. Artie

    Artie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    That's funny every time I patch I can't load a save....
     
  15. alcaras

    alcaras Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    191
    This is a really big patch... why is it so big?

    What do they mean by DirectX 9.0c included... isn't that already downloadable separately (i.e. I think I already have it)...
     
  16. Cabay Jet

    Cabay Jet Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    279
    My guess is that the patch is so large because they want people to stop complaining about Civ IV wanting a newer version of DirectX and them already having the newest version. (DX 9.0c) The patch includes DX 9.0c June 2007, the latest version from Mircosoft. Go figure.
     
  17. Ghost Ranger

    Ghost Ranger Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    357
  18. Artie

    Artie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    So can I get it without DX?? Where is it going to be so when I am done patching I can get rid of it so I don't waste all that hard drive space???

    BAH..... Guess I should have just not installed BTS and then patched the DX so that I wouldn't have wasted that time.
     
  19. arstal

    arstal Say No 2 Net Validations

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    771
    To the posts complaining about the fix. They probably don't want to do a bunch of patches, so they're delaying the gameplay fixes until later. I don't agree with this- but it's the way things are done for some reason.
     
  20. ggganz

    ggganz a.k.a. The Scyphozoa

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,485
    Location:
    Sector 5
    Ya know what? I suck at civ4 (I have been playing for over a year and can barely win on Warlord) so I am just going to stick to civ4 and wait for civ5 complete next time.

    EDIT: crosspost, not that it matters. :(
     

Share This Page