1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Build Order Strategy

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Strategy & Tips' started by persself, Sep 24, 2008.

  1. Dale

    Dale Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    6,986
    Cool, glad someone did the maths. :) So yeah, train those natives (if you have the right training available). :) :goodjob:
     
  2. Peachrocks

    Peachrocks Too Fast For Blazing

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    127
    Dale I thought you'd know with all my Champlain usage that I particularly liked training converted natives to become experts :p.

    However in some cases it might be difficult to find a native village that trains in a particular area, and its not available from Europe. In which case converted natives are the way to go if you really want to gather that resource.
     
  3. Ellestar

    Ellestar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    477
    Location:
    Russian Federation, Moscow
    Actually, not.
    Native convert: +1 flat bonus on outdoor job
    Farmer/Fisherman: +3 bonus and extra +2 for a food resource
    Other specialist: *2 multiplier

    Obviously, specialist is always better if you use him for the right job job.
     
  4. bert78

    bert78 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    I found that automating a Seasoned Scout was very useful in the start. He will explore the map, explore any "ruins" he comes across and he will visit the various native villages. Pretty soon youll know where to go to train that whatever expert you need. Also, and i found this extremely useful, he will now and again find treasure in the 1000-2000 gold category AND alot of the chiefs he meets will give smaller gifts of gold that go right into your coffers. In my current game im pretty sure the seasoned scout generated most of my income for perhaps the first 50 turns.

    I spent the money on the cheapest immigrants i could find and sent free cols, pettys and intendured servs right off the boat into the fitting village and I thought this was working very well for me until i realized that i had forgot completely about crosses and bells. Im gonna restart and work some preachers and statesmen into it and see how it works out.

    Anywho, I feel that getting that scout working early on can give you a real good boost in the beginning.
     
  5. Hrímþurs

    Hrímþurs Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Göteborg
    Seriously, I dont get this. Changing a scout to a dragoon therefore requires moving the scout into the colony and out again :mad:
     
  6. Civsassin

    Civsassin Immortal

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    830
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    I've only played for a few hours, but it seems that a viable strategy would be to specialize your settlements - I haven't heard that before in a Civ game - and build wagon trains to move goods between settlements and to coastal cities for transport to the homeland. In this way, you don't have to build everything in each settlement. You need to add only the appropriate specialists in each settlement. This also implies that you should get five or six settlements up and running as soon as possible and near diverse resources.

    Also, this would allow you to pick one settlement with production capability to train your soldiers.

    I will continue trying this and post any results I obtain.
     
  7. Dale

    Dale Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    6,986
    You don't have to go in and out of the colony, as long as the unit is on a city plot just click the jobs button and change jobs.
     
  8. Darklighter

    Darklighter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    I didn't see this mentioned any where so I wanted to add. In Col1 you could only use a native village once for training. I was able to use the same villiage multiple times to train my free colonists last night.

    Also, converted natives can not be changed into soldiers. So keep that in mind when your struggle for independence starts.
     
  9. Tmoney02

    Tmoney02 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    I think I posted something along these lines in another thread but I have no doubt it got buried. And thanks for the heads up about converts. I haven't tried doing that yet and is good to know.

    Another change from COl1 is that you can send multiple colonists to the same village at the same time and they will train together, though the training may take longer - I havent timed it, it just seemed that way.
     
  10. frosty2k

    frosty2k Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    I tried this last night. It seems to queue them up so that it does one, then the other, not both at the same time.:goodjob:
     
  11. Shagrat44

    Shagrat44 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Midwest
    Haven't had a lot of experience yet, still on my first game but my advice is warehouse in coastal cities where you can pickup goods to export back to Europe. Once you have a non coastal cities make sure you build a wagontrain to get the goods to your port cities for export. Another thing I learned was in your non coastal cities when you automate your wagontrain it will ask you what the minimum goods you want in, I made the mistake at first to export all my fur and coat production and the problem I had was I exported too much and this was more than the warehouse in my coastal city cold hold in their ware house so you might want to make sure you keep a minimum until you get your export logistic worked out to ensure you don't overload warehouse capacity.

    As someone else pointed out on this thread specializing certain cities makes a lot of sense, this is like CIV4 in that in regular CIV you might have hammer production cities, and science city etc...

    Hope this helps, will add more as I figure things out a bit more
     
  12. The Fjonis

    The Fjonis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    514
    Location:
    Trondheim, Norway
    Sounds logical. :)

    Can wagon trains be automated, you say? That's pretty cool. Is there a way of selecting the amount of cargo to go on a ship/wagon train, or does it just fill it up to the max automatically? Oh, and is it possible to transport food from one settlement to another? If so, that would make it possible to make huge specialist cities (like the capital) where all the goods are processed..
     
  13. Darklighter

    Darklighter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Yes to all of your questions. Manage the imports/exports through the city screen. I bought food several times in Europe for a 1 or 2 per 100 and dumped into one of my cities for instant new colonist. You can also just gather food from all around your colonies as you suggested.

    You gotta watch out for the specialist cites. If one gets taken, say you send all commodities to one production city and this city gets taken you are SOL!

    I tend to specialize in this manner. Each city has one or two complete production lines. example: cotton - cloth, tobbacco - cigars. That way things are spread out a little more.
     
  14. Ellestar

    Ellestar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    477
    Location:
    Russian Federation, Moscow
    What's the point? You can recruit 1-3 specialists for the price of 200 food.
     
  15. Darklighter

    Darklighter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    I should have mentioned that I was in the middle of my war for independence. I snuck a galleon to Europe and filled it with guns and food. I needed several new colonists asap. By the late game it cost well over 20,000 gold to hurry a colonist if your crosses are not near full. So it was alot cheaper to buy the food and spawn a colonist.
     
  16. Gliese 581

    Gliese 581 Your average civ junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,503
    Location:
    Sweden
    It would have been even cheaper to just buy a lumberjack from the specialist menu.
     

Share This Page