C++/Lua Request Thread

Looking at this code, I can't help but feel it's terribly and blasphemously incorrect, but I'm not experienced enough with Lua to know for sure:
Can I get some input?

Most of your variable names have correct syntax but many modders have adopted Hungarian Notation.
Basically, since a variable can have any type (E.g. integer, string, table, etc.), it can make code more readable to explicitly mention this type in the variable name.
For instance, a variable named pUnit will contain a pointer to a unit (i.e. you can use methods such as :GetName() or :GetUnitType() on such a variable).
sUnit will contain a string related to a unit (for instance a name)
iUnit will contain an integer related to a unit (for instance an ID)
tUnit will contain a table related to a unit, etc.
Therefore, following Hungarian Notation, your variable can rename the following variables:
Code:
iCivilisationID = GameInfoTypes["CIVILIZATION_SERTAO"]
iUAPromotion = GameInfoTypes["PROMOTION_SERTAO_RELIGION_PROMOTION"]
bHasCreatedReligion = pPlayer:HasCreatedReligion()
iPlayerReligion = pPlayer:GetReligionCreatedByPlayer()
iCityReligion = pCity:GetReligiousMajority()
pUnit = pPlayer:GetUnitByID(UnitID)
pPlot = pUnit:GetPlot()
iCity = pPlot:GetCityPurchaseID()

What is a problem is that you try to define several variables outside of the methods:
Code:
local HasCreatedReligion = player:HasCreatedReligion()
local PlayerReligion = player:GetReligionCreatedByPlayer()
local CityReligion = City:GetReligiousMajority()
local Unit = player:GetUnitByID(UnitID)
local Plot = Unit:GetPlot()
local City = Plot:GetCityPurchaseID()
However, at this point, it is unknown to the game what the value for say, player, actually is (as this has not been defined)

If we move some of these variables of your original function, we obtain the following.
At this point, the game knows which values (most of) these variables have
Code:
function CombatBonus(iPlayer, iUnit)
    local pPlayer = Players[iPlayer]