• Civilization 7 has been announced. For more info please check the forum here .

Can never get too far in a game...

Tempto

Chieftain
Hey. I started playing Civ 5 earlier this year, and I absolutely love it. It is my first Civ game. But I'm struggling playing anything past Warlord. I haven't played a full game in months; nowadays, I can never get past the first hundred or so turns without being in a horrible state, so bad that I just abandon the game. It seems that if I focus on any aspect, I do utterly horrible in the rest. If I do my best to expand, my military is horrendous and I get attacked. If I focus on my military, I'll have the smallest territory in game. No matter what I do, I just keep hitting a roadblock...

So far, all of my victories have been Science, and none achieved over the Warlord level. But now Warlord is too easy for me, whereas Prince is too hard, and I don't know what exactly to do. It's really frustrating, because I WANT to enjoy this game but I'm hardly playing it anymore because I can never get past early game. And the worst part is, I don't even know what exactly I'm doing wrong.

Input and advice from you more experienced Civvers would be great. Help me enjoy the game. Thanks!

Well, I'm definitely not the best player in the world, but I'll try to help.

For one thing, it might just be good to expand according to however much happiness that you have.Don't over expand a bunch of cities too quickly and get into unhappiness, as that will probably cause you to have a bunch of low population cities when you could have a few large cities.I usually try to keep at least one worker for each of my early cities, and that usually works pretty well for king difficulty.And if you have any extra luxury resources sell them to the AI, since extra ones don't give you extra happiness.