1. Firaxis celebrates the "Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month", and offers a give-away of a Civ6 anthology copy (5 in total)! For all the details, please check the thread here. .
    Dismiss Notice

[C3C] Civ 3 on GNU/Linux with Play on Linux

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Technical Support' started by nick0515, May 2, 2017.

  1. nick0515

    nick0515 C7 Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,542
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New Zealand
    There is a basic demonstration version you can install right now I believe?
     
  2. ville-v

    ville-v Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    I added following lines to Conquests.ini to make the game to start:

    PlayIntro=0
    KeepRes=1

    There is a new workaround to black terrain bug in the link: https://bugs.winehq.org/show_bug.cgi?id=41930

    Rename /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/libOSMesa.so.8 to something else so that Wine won't use it.

    After those fixes, the game can be played, but there are audio issues (as described by other users).

    I installed from iso, not from Steam.

    Edit: I have found some graphical issues. It seems Mesa is used to draw some colored lines, which are no longer visible:

    * New borders while placing a settler
    * War, peace etc. in the diplomatic advisor screen
    * Map locations in military advisor and cultural advisor screens
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2022
    nick0515 likes this.
  3. nick0515

    nick0515 C7 Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,542
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Nice! Will have to try that out. Still working pretty well for me on Proton though I haven't been using it very much.
     

Share This Page