1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Civ 6 Benchmark tool

Discussion in 'Civ6 - Technical Support' started by zarakand, Nov 2, 2016.

  1. zarakand

    zarakand Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    560
    Location:
    Chicago
    Hey I saw this handy tool built into Civ as one of the options and I was wondering what I'm supposed to take away from the results? It generated a CSV file which I think shows the frames per second and then I did an average of that (22.47229). However, I'm not sure how to interpret this number.

    I currently play the game on low in windowed mode (easier to alt tab), on medium it kind of stutters a bit so I prefer low for how the game plays. Does the benchmark test on that setting?
     
  2. callan

    callan Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    270
    Yes, the graphics in the benchmark are rendered according to your settings. While no-one could claim 22FPs is high it is sufficient to play a game like Civ 6 with few graphical hindrances, especially considering the benchmark represents late game play, with a good number of active units present.
     
    zarakand likes this.
  3. zarakand

    zarakand Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    560
    Location:
    Chicago
    Thanks you've been very helpful! Every time a new Civ comes out I start thinking about upgrading my computer or it's parts.
     
  4. tekjunkie28

    tekjunkie28 Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016
    Messages:
    333
    Gender:
    Male
    What are your systems parts?

    I got a GTX 1070 to upgrade a GTX 680 and I'm thinking about taking back the 1070 and going back to the 680....
     
  5. player1 fanatic

    player1 fanatic Fanatic

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    The number shown is average time in ms between frames. And is actually greater the slower the computer is.

    Divide 1000 by this number and you will get proper Frames Per Second (FPS) that everybody understands.
     
    Das Capitolin and zarakand like this.
  6. zarakand

    zarakand Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    560
    Location:
    Chicago
    How come you're thinking of returning the 1070?

    I'm overall very happy with my computer and only want to upgrade it to be able to play in Ultra (is that stupid? yes! but it's also fun). I'd gotten in Nov 2011, and so far it's become my longest lasting still feels like new computer in everything other than Civ VI.

    I have an i7 2600 3.4ghz, 16gb ram, Radeon HD 7750 1gb, and the game runs off of an SSD. I'm probably going to upgrade during the holiday season to a GTX 1050 TI or GTX 1060 3gb and change out my case/power supply if I do that.
     

Share This Page