Civ5 Modding 3D Graphics for Absolute Beginners

greenlamb

Chieftain
Since I'm an absolute beginner in 3D graphics with no prior knowledge whatsoever, I thought it'll be useful to document what I learnt even with the basic steps, as this part was by far the hardest part of Civ5 modding, well to me anyway.

PART A: Blender

Blender is a free and open-source 3D computer graphics software product used for creating animated films, visual effects, art, 3D printed models, interactive 3D applications and video games. Blender is used in Civ5 modding to edit or create the 3D models of the units, buildings, etc. It's like the Photoshop of 3D models, and the files it saves in are .blend files.

Step 1: Install Blender 2.49b

Now, the important thing is NOT TO INSTALL THE LATEST VERSION OF BLENDER! This is because crucial scripts, i.e. Deliverator's Blender scripts, only currently work with Blender v2.49. And since Blender 2.49 has a very different user interface as compared to the current version 2.7x, don't make the same mistake as me and start learning the current version.

TLDR; Download the correct Blender 2.49b from here and install.

Step 2: Install Python 2.6.6

Now Blender v2.49b requires that you separately install Python, which is a programming language which Blender needs. Installing the latest version of Python also won't work; I still got the "No installed Python found" error. So therefore you need to install Python 2.6.6.

TLDR; Download Python 2.6.6 from here and install. TAKE NOTE OF THE INSTALLATION FOLDER!

Step 3: Setting up Python System Variable

Now if you start up Blender, you'll still probably get the "No installed Python found" error. I did. If you didn't, lucky you. There is a last part to fix.

TLDR; Follow the steps in this page. For "Variable value:", it should be:

Code:
C:\PYTHON26;C:\PYTHON26\DLLs;C:\PYTHON26\LIB;C:\PYTHON26\LIB\LIB-TK

Or whatever installation folder you installed it in.