Civilization 5 Mac System Requirements

gepapado

Chieftain
Hello, I recently started playing Civilization V on my more than adequate iMac and noticed that during the late game, it sometimes ran a little slowly for my liking. I'm not going to complain about the leaders' graphics as I know this has something to do with Windows technology not ported correctly to the Mac version. Anyway, I searched for underlying causes on my end and did not find anything. So, I checked the system requirements (SR). The recommended SR for the Windows version are ridiculously lower than for the Mac version. As far as I am concerned though, the game is not running in some sort of emulator. So, my question is, after endless ranting, why does the Mac version have to run on such a high-end computer while the Windows version does not? The system requirements for both operating systems are listed below. (Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Civilization_V)

System requirements

Windows​
  • Microsoft Windows
  • Windows XP SP3
  • Intel Core 2 Duo 1.8Ghz or AMD Athlon 64 X2 2.0Ghz Processor
  • 2 GB RAM
  • 8 GB free disk space
  • DVD Drive for disc-based installation
  • 256 MB ATI 2600 XT/nVidia 7900 GS video card, or Core i3 integrated graphics
  • DirectX 9.0c-compatible sound card
  • Internet connection and a Steam account for authentication

Recommended​

• Windows Vista SP2/Windows 7
  • 1.8 GHz Quad Core Processor
  • 4 GB RAM
  • 8 GB free disk space
  • DVD Drive
  • 512 MB ATI 4800/nVidia 9800 or better video card

Mac​
  • Mac OS 10.6.4 (Snow Leopard)
  • 2.6 GHz Quad Core Processor
  • 4 GB RAM
  • Video Memory: 512MB

Moderator Action: Moved to the Mac section.

And the answer is easy: Stuff gets optimized for Windows. The same optimizations don't work on a Mac, due to different structure and missing APIs, that's why the game has to run with less optimization -> more power needed.