Compensation?

Aztec566

Chieftain
Seriously guys, this is rediculous.
As a developer myself I understand there will be bugs, but this is just wrong.
I would never release a game and expect my user base to unwillingly become beta testers.

In fact, my experience so far with this game has been a worse experience than I have ever had with beta software.
I have even gone so far as to try all of the fixes posted (update drivers/install and uninstall/unpack art file) all of which simply do not work.
I am running on an ati radeon 9200 and everything else works, doom3, halflife2, the progs in the dx9 sdk, countless numbers of my own programs and games I have made running on the new dx9 .dll's.
There is simply no excuse for this.

I spent my hard earned money on this game expecting a finished product, and got a beta. I want compensation for my time and money I spent thus far as a beta tester! This is not a job I signed up for and if it is to be forced upon me, I'd like to know what my salary will be.

Seriously though, I think that the publisher and devs should be the ones to patch this thing up and not shove long bs fixes on the unsuspecting consumers who can't fix up buggy code and don't have the time to try fix after fix only to find they just wasted 4 hours on something that simply wont fix this shoddy product.

amen!

I think it is crazy to expect everyone to have to update their drivers, and search around to find obscure fixes just to get the game to run proplerly or even at all. My pc isn't old, and should have been able to run this after isntallation without having to do all these strange little hacks.

I expected this game to be the quality civ3 was, but I am disapointed.

I have to agree. Firaxis really screwed up on this one.

All this waiting for nothing.

handyandy said:
i dont want to get into an argument but why not just return it?

Perhaps the store he purchased it from has a no return policy.

i dont want to get into an argument but why not just return it?