1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Conquests - Can't find CD after patching to 1.22

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Technical Support' started by Nebuzaradan, Mar 22, 2005.

  1. Nebuzaradan

    Nebuzaradan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    I have Civ3, PTW, and Conquests. All of them work fine in the original unpatched version. But when I try to patch Conquests to 1.22 it suddenly can't find the CD (it didn't even require it before the patch).

    Any ideas?
     
  2. deo

    deo Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,029
    Location:
    At my Computer
    It's not original! It's a ilegal copy
     
  3. Nebuzaradan

    Nebuzaradan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Ok, I guess thats idea... :rolleyes:

    Maybe I should have been more clear... ;)

    Any USEFUL ideas?
     
  4. deo

    deo Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,029
    Location:
    At my Computer
    I don't think you can find any help here...
     
  5. Turner

    Turner Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    28,169
    Location:
    Randomistan
    Now, now, deo, don't be so quick to judge. There are legitimate reasons as to why it was played before without a CD.

    A little more information would be very helpful. Version (Conqests vs. Complete), where you got the game, how you got the game (disc vs download), that kind of thing.
     
  6. Nebuzaradan

    Nebuzaradan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Yeah, no problem. I bought the CD through Scholastic, a company that sells various things to teachers and students. I got Civ3, PTW, and Conquests all three together (but not the complete pack).

    The game is version 1.00 when I install it and everything seems to work fine. It's never asked for the CD when I start the game (at least in conquests, original Civ3 and PTW did ask for the CD, but not conquests).

    Scholastic is an official company, not some weird company selling illegal knock-offs. The only thing I could think of that would account for it being different is if they got custom games from Infogrames. I've emailed them and just haven't heard back yet.

    I just about to get too sick of it all and return the game to Scholastic and go buy the complete pack from Walmart....
     
  7. Turner

    Turner Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    28,169
    Location:
    Randomistan
    The only custom games that I'm aware of are the downloadable ones, from places like trygames.com. They have to tweak the program so it doesn't look for the cd. When a patch is released (probably not an issue anymore) you'd have to get the patch from them, not here or the firaxis site, as the CD protection is upgraded each time. They would again have to tweak it so it doesn't look for the CD.

    In any event, I'd probably send it back and get a refund. Since you're not getting any help from their customer service, and you can't patch the game to the level it should be patched to. And if/when you get complete, it's already fully patched, so no worries about this issue.
     

Share This Page