Cyphose's Compendium of Questions

Cyphose

y tho
Hey, CivFanatics modders! I'm Cyphose, and I'm new here (well, newly registered anyway--I've been lurking for a few weeks now). Side note: If I dun goofed with some aspect of this topic, just let me know (or delete it or move it or whatever's necessary); genuine newbie here. I recently got into modding and this forum has been invaluable in setting me straight and helping me with a lot of issues. Combined with looking up other mods and reverse-engineering to solve my problems, I've gotten by some fairly complicated stuff (at least for a new modder like me) with relative ease.

I've got a pretty ambitious project to mess with all the existing Civs and change their Uniques around (or add some new ones) that further develop a theme and feel to each one, since I find that, generally speaking, base game Civs aren't that distinct from one another. Obviously that's a lot of work, so the mod is very much a WIP, but it's slowly and steadily being fleshed out.

With that, and my lack of expertise, in mind, no time was wasted in running into a few roadblocks. I try my best to solve them on my own, but sometimes nothing I find really answers my question(s). So instead of flooding the forum every time I'm drawing a blank, I figured I'd keep my questions compact into one topic.

Ok, cool. Enough with the introductions then, onto the questions that have been giving me grief for the last few days or so:

Let's say I want to change Arabia's UA to something like this:

House of Wisdom
Gain :c5science: Science upon adopting a :c5culture: Social Policy equal to 50% of its :c5culture: Culture cost. Enter a :c5goldenage: Golden Age each time an Era is advanced.

Numbers obviously malleable. The question I have here is twofold: