Difficulty with Happiness

SnoopDogg23

Chieftain
Aside from the existential matters this topic raises :D, I must say I feel like I'm missing something, or the game design is missing something, in the Ancient Era. This is my first time playing in a while, and although it used to happen to me, it seemed more acute in this game.

Starting as Deganawida leading the Incas, I was able to build 3 cities quickly. Then, my cities started to become simply overwhelmed with unhappiness. This, of course, creates a terrible ripple effect that plagues your civilization's science, production and growth. From many years of playing, I know that the only way to solve the issue generally when it occurs is to discover or adopt a religion. But, due to the unhappiness plague, I couldn't found a religion fast enough. (Difficulty being switched back and forth between Noble and Prince).

The other thing I noticed was that the negative 1/3 penalties to gold and science really force you out of the Barter system and into Slavery immediately. This exacerbates the unhappiness plague.

Yes, graveyards and walls help, but this matter is more severe, especially since you can't get to those buildings without running into this plague.

How do you avoid this problem, especially on prince or higher difficulty? Not to mention, I think the human player should be able to found a religion. It's awesome to get those buildings and benefits. The game is simply not as fun without being able to found a religion.

Am I missing something here??

Snoop

What's your map size?

3 cities are pretty much in the early game on smaller maps.
Both number of cities (less is better) and cities distance from capital (closer is better) has a great impact on your overall happiness. So early expansion is no longer a very good idea, which is... a good idea as a human player can no longer capture all the valuable land before the AI :)
By time those penalties will decrease or will have less effect.