DirectX 10 vs 9

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by jahsoldier, Oct 21, 2010.

  1. jahsoldier

    jahsoldier Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    203
    I've heard the DirectX 9 version runs a bit quicker than 10, is this true? I couldn't see much pf a difference when I tried but I didn't bother playing all the way to the later game, when the slowdown starts to get crippling
     
  2. KopOut

    KopOut Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    I have a lower end machine, and the DirectX 9 version of the game not only runs about 4 times as quick, but is the only version that is smooth on my computer.

    So I guess it must make it faster...
     
  3. ChaplainDMK

    ChaplainDMK Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Probably does because DX9 has alot of settings turned off for some reason...
     
  4. Abegweit

    Abegweit Anarchist trader

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,875
    Location:
    One step ahead of the authorities
    More likely because a lot of the Direct X 11 routines are emulated in software on older machines.
     
  5. jahsoldier

    jahsoldier Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    203
    Yep, Dx9 runs heaps faster, cheers! :goodjob: What do you mean by settings turned off?
     
  6. skallben

    skallben Diplomat

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,005
    Location:
    Cold Country in Europe
    Hmm, I am quite sure I read a thread recently with some tests showing that DX10 makes for faster load between turns, but generally lower FPS. Lower FPS is like poster above said, because some DX11 features are run on DX10 systems, terribly dragging performance down. But maybe I dreamt it all.
     

Share This Page