District System Discussion

As a designer I'm confident that thing is definitely an "economic/market"... uh, something-or-other. ;)

- Jon
Which system of economic ideology would said district be based on? Would the government of my empire be able to take complete control over these economic districts in the vein of a command/control economy, and be able to plan it out over some period of time? Would the government of my empire be able to completely deregulate the economic district and allow anyone (foreign or domestic) to take part in and benefit from the exchanges taking place there? Would I be able to establish a mixed economy with regulation based on what I would perceive to be the public's well being, such as rule based on safety and fair use?

Could my citizens build a new economic district all their own is response to an action of mine or some other external motivation? Or will I always retain dictatorial control over all of it at all time regardless of what else happens?

Just speculating, but my impression is that the districts will be very much centrally-planned. No way to know for sure yet though.

- Jon

What the heck is wrong with you, man?
Huh?

It is a valid question. Liberal economics (those based on Adam Smith and later John Maynard Keynes and Milton Friedman), although being by far the most common systems, are not the only ones and history is often shaped by competing populist ideas of governance and economics.