1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Does AI actually get smarter?

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Strategy & Tips' started by SirJethro, Jul 15, 2002.

  1. SirJethro

    SirJethro Paterfamilias

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,628
    Location:
    Treadin' trodden trails...
    I've heard a lot about the starting bonuses of the AI on the higher difficulty levels, but I'm still not sure whether the AI actually gets smarter on the higher levels. Has anybody confirmed whether this is or is not the case?
     
  2. BCLG100

    BCLG100 Music Master

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2002
    Messages:
    16,650
    Location:
    Lahndan
    i think they are about the same but they just are able to do more things because of the bonuses also they concentrate a lot on military
     
  3. Zouave

    Zouave Crusader

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,603
    Smarter than what??

    I hear a chicken is smarter than a turkey, but they're both pretty dumb.
     
  4. Allemand

    Allemand Chief

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    218
    Location:
    Olympia
    I let a chicken beat me at tic-tac-toe once, and my wife won't let me forget it. Of course, all it had to do was peck at an enter key, and the computer did the rest. That's how smart the AI is in CivIII. :)
     
  5. bobgote

    bobgote Trousers

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    4,786
    Location:
    Melbourne, VIC
    I think they run on the same process, it's just that on higher levels the AI has more resources to do it with.
     
  6. SirJethro

    SirJethro Paterfamilias

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,628
    Location:
    Treadin' trodden trails...
    Zouave....I guess this thread was pretty much a slow pitch softball for ya. Good point. :lol:
     
  7. Portuguese

    Portuguese Vassalising Spain

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,848
    Location:
    Oporto, Portugal (duh)
    AI doesn't get any smarter.

    Check the civ3mod.bic too see starting units for different difficulty levels... and be prepared to see it... :lol: :lol: :lol:
     
  8. sabo

    sabo My Ancestors were Vikings

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,107
    Location:
    Minneapolis, City of Lakes
    Yes it does get smarter, case in point
    Here's a little excerp from negotiations with the AI

    Me: how much for that iron
    AI: 10 GPT
    Me: how much for that coal
    AI: 10GPT
    Me: how much for that iron AND coal
    AI: 10GPT

    Now tell me, is that some smart negotiating???
     
  9. bobgote

    bobgote Trousers

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    4,786
    Location:
    Melbourne, VIC
    sabo10: I wish i got that

    Me: how much for that iron?
    AI: can't have it
    Me: :( how much for that coal?
    AI: can't have that neither
    Me: how about both iron AND coal?
    AI: didn't you hear what i said? get outta here, you idiot!
     
  10. zeeter

    zeeter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,250
    The correct answer to this question, as some have noted, is that No, the AI does not get smarter. It is, however, able to do more as it has cheaper troops and cheaper infrastructure. For example, if attacking you the AI will send a SOD at you on the lower levels. On the higher levels, it can send two SOD's at you. I know, its a stupid example. However, using two SOD's gives far more options to the AI than using one so in effect is seems that the AI is doing things differently on the higher level when really it is not.
     
  11. Portuguese

    Portuguese Vassalising Spain

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,848
    Location:
    Oporto, Portugal (duh)
    Have anyone of you seen ANY differences in AI when changing difficulty levels? Which differences?
     
  12. MatteM

    MatteM Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    92
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stockholm
    Haha sorry I was trying to reassign my resource to a different download database category, if some mod can delete my resource-link from this thread I would be thankful
     

Share This Page