1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

DOes anybody else change the names of cities or units?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Married2099, Sep 29, 2010.

  1. Ataxerxes

    Ataxerxes Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,073
    I've never renamed units. Might be useful.

    I often don't rename cities, but there are times I do. In Road to War I put an A or T after the name to remember what unit the city produces - I dont' want to foul up my health with both buildings to make either type of units. For well-specialized cities I think putting some sort of shorthand note next to the name might be good.

    On an Earth map it's usually a good idea. I can't remember that Manchester is in south-eastern africa to pick up all the resources. I get the note that the enemy is near Manchester and then search the world to find the "darn" city. With 25 cities it gets tedious. I usually name the cities based on geographical location so I can find them easily.
     
  2. Dhoomstriker

    Dhoomstriker Girlie Builder

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    13,408
    If you open up the Event Log (one of the icons at the top right of the screen), you can click on the particular notice in the Event Log and the screen should get centered on where the action is taking place. For example, centered on a City when something happens to a City or centered on a unit for a nearby enemy unit sighting.
     
  3. duckstab

    duckstab Child of Noble Family

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,425
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    I almost never rename cities, except playing as America I always make Austin the capital and name all my other cities after nearby communities. I picked up this quirk after my son complained I never had Austin as a city...

    I use the unit naming feature in BUG/BAT/BUFFY, and I frequently edit the unit's designation to reflect its intended role and as a guide to future promotions. For example siege units will be designated "Precision" if they're getting Accuracy, "Assault" if they're getting CR, or "Field" if they're getting Barrage. I rarely bother to rename them if I eventually decide on a different line of promos for them, however.
     
  4. milk steak

    milk steak Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    258
    My buddy abuses this in multiplayer. He names his Spanish capital "TACOVILLE" or some other horribly racist/crude name. :p
     
  5. Jerrymander

    Jerrymander Epistemologist

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,624
    Location:
    Hallways of Always
    I like naming every city obscene words only a 12 year old would find funny.
     
  6. TheMulattoMaker

    TheMulattoMaker Dictator of RF

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,483
    Location:
    Far-GO!
    I sometimes rename cities in a non-Earth map, if it'll help me avoid confusion. On Earth maps I've been renaming cities all the way back to CivI- you could find me as a young'un by my dad's computer with an atlas, trying to find a good name for "somewhere-northeast-of-Yakutsk". Playing an Earth18 game now as the Romans and amusing myself by renaming all my conquered cities as accurately as my semi-educated 'Murkin mind can remember. Berlin became Germania, London is Britannia, Madrid is Hispania, etc.

    Had no idea you could rename units. Off to change Praetorian, Praetorian, and Praetorian to Legio I Roma, Legio II Italia, Legio III Dalmatia, etc. And my GG Ahuitzotl (sp?) will be renamed Scipio Africanus. Er, Scipio Sarmatia, I guess- he's in Russia, we haven't been to Egypt yet...
     
  7. karadoc

    karadoc AI programmer

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,568
    Location:
    Australia
    I sometimes give particular units a joke name (such as "the incredible holkan", who had a few lucky win), but I rarely rename cities. If I want to remind myself that a city is meant to have a particular national wonder or whatever then I put a label on the city (with alt+s) for example 'ws' for wall street or 'np' for national park, but I don't rename the city itself.
     
  8. ElMikkino

    ElMikkino Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    When playing a game as the Uyghurs in Civ Gold, I captured that Zulu city uMgundagunglovu, or whatever you call it, and renamed it Gungyur.
     
  9. Peregrine

    Peregrine The Swift

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    440
    Location:
    The Nether Regions
    I've always renamed cities. I use the country names from an old spi board wargame called Strategy I. Aesgaard is always the capital. Bornhem, Chessex, Drammikos, Etracia, Fanticca, Gastonny, Hombierge, etc. You get the idea. Yes, they're alphabetical.

    Like Gmax, I had no idea you could rename units. Does this apply to individual units or an entire unit type?
     
  10. karadoc

    karadoc AI programmer

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,568
    Location:
    Australia
    Individual units only. (unless you modify the game assets or something)
     
  11. Tristan_C

    Tristan_C Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,540
    I rename my first warrior Dr. Fogbust. If it lives, the first warrior is usually a woods-III that can run :health: stack support throughout the game. Kind of cool to track him.

    I never bother to rename a city unless I need to remind myself of a pressing strategic concern; i.e., whip@6 or 18maxfood or "spam cats." This is rare since I micro pretty carefully anyway.

    My 9-yr-old nephew saw Shaka build Nobamba, and he hates Barack Obama, so he usually renames at least one of his cities something like Nobama or No Obama.
     
  12. GenocideAlive

    GenocideAlive Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    I rename all my cities after Star Destroyers.

    Everything else I generally leave alone. I mean, it's pretty hard to top things like "Axeman". It's a dude with an Axe.
     
  13. karadoc

    karadoc AI programmer

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,568
    Location:
    Australia
    You could call him "axedude".
     
  14. AFS

    AFS Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Chile
    I didn't know you can change the name of the units.

    Anyway, no, I usually keep the default city names. But sometimes I use the Alt + S thingy to give a name to a river, a sea or a mountain, just for the heck of it.
     
  15. Junuxx

    Junuxx Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,153
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Axedude, son of Clubman, son of Caveguy, wearer of the mighty bearskin of Grrraaaaaaghr.
     
  16. TheMulattoMaker

    TheMulattoMaker Dictator of RF

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,483
    Location:
    Far-GO!
    City defenders hate to see Axedude coming. They know he's gonna axe them if they want to surrender, and then really axe them if they say no.
     
  17. PreLynMax

    PreLynMax Your Lord and Master

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,325
    Location:
    In the depths of computer hell...
    I never, ever rename my units or cities. I like to keep things... authentic.
    I guess thats a quark I never, ever think about.

    @ParadigmShifter... what do you mean Liverpool is hard to pronounce? Any infant with down syndrome can pronounce "Liverpool"!
     
  18. karadoc

    karadoc AI programmer

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,568
    Location:
    Australia
    A strange quark indeed.

    I guess we can at least conclude that he isn't an infant with Down syndrome.
     
  19. pob

    pob Deity²

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    I don't rename units, I don't want to get too attached to the cannon fodder.

    I rename my cities to keep track of planned sites for national wonders and so I don't forget about city specialisation (I'm an amnaesiac, so without city renaming and tile labels I easily lose track).

    Sometimes I rename a city that I'm about to lose to "BOOOOOOM!!!" just so I can giggle about it when watching the game replay later (and so I don't get so sad about losing the city and all it's wonderful culture producing buildings).
     
  20. ParadigmShifter

    ParadigmShifter Random Nonsense Generator

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,810
    Location:
    Liverpool, home of Everton FC
    Check my "Location" ;)
     

Share This Page