Enemy Capital=civil war?

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by bgart5, Dec 5, 2004.

  1. bgart5

    bgart5 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    In Civ II, every now and then when you took an enemies capital a 'civil war' would break out and split the enemy into two civs (so, like the vikings would become the vikings and the english).

    Does this happen at all in Civ III? I liked it when that happened because that meant I had another ally, or some one else to pulverise.
     
  2. superslug

    superslug Still hatin' on Khan Moderator Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    11,374
    Location:
    The Farm
    No, I'm afraid it doesn't.
     
  3. primeminister99

    primeminister99 Always Right & Honourable

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Caenerda
    I never remember that happening though -- maybe cause I had civ2 on playstation.
     
  4. citizen001

    citizen001 Banned

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,281
    Location:
    Australia
    It doesn't happen in Civ3 but they should have an option in the editor to implement it for custom scenarios.
     
  5. Pounder

    Pounder Phaethon was here

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,698
    Location:
    Your territory
  6. CIVPhilzilla

    CIVPhilzilla Reagan Republican

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    4,714
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    That is a feature I really miss.
     
  7. Abaddon

    Abaddon Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    31,182
    Location:
    NES/FG/SF Activity:Arguing the toss
    Was Great when it happened.. was another thing that immersed you in the game
     
  8. Jon Shafer

    Jon Shafer Civilization 5 Designer

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,102
    Location:
    Maryland
    I disagree... just another way to exploit the AI.
     
  9. primeminister99

    primeminister99 Always Right & Honourable

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Caenerda
    I think if its done in an intellgent way it can be okay. But if you just dispatch a strong expeditionary force to the AI capital than it is an exploit.

    The AI should also have a strong way of assesing the situation. Example: if the AI capital is on your border it wouldn't cause much of anything to happen should you capture it, but if it's deep in their territory (compared to pre-war borders) then there should be some upheavel for a few turns. After the upheavel have a new goverment that is able to produce units quicker and cheaper (for the duration of the war) -- a sort of desperation move perhaps.
     
  10. The Last Conformist

    The Last Conformist Irresistibly Attractive

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    27,779
    Location:
    Not on your side
    Civil wars were cool, but, as Trip says, horribly exploitable.

    And not terribly realistic either. I'm hard pressed to think of examples where countries have fallen into civil war because of their capital cities being captured by external enemies.
     
  11. braclayrab

    braclayrab Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    91
    I don't remember them being that exploitable in Civ I... of course, I was like 8 yrs old then. Wasn't it still somewhat rare, even when you captured a capital...?
     
  12. primeminister99

    primeminister99 Always Right & Honourable

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Caenerda
    This is true TLC, although there should be a way of encouraing a real civil war -- and of course it should be able to happen to your own civ.
     
  13. Yuri2356

    Yuri2356 Test Screening

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,415
    Location:
    Great White North
    I belive that was in Civ1, but it was so rare that I've only seen it once.
     
  14. LLXerxes

    LLXerxes Space Travel is Boring

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    5,079
    yes, but we can only go so far realism-wise ;)

    my friend told me this is possible in Civ3 but it's not. he got II and III mixed up.
    maybe they'll add it back in Civ4 maybe :undecide:
     
  15. Jon Shafer

    Jon Shafer Civilization 5 Designer

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,102
    Location:
    Maryland
    No reason to come up with a game mechanic that's both unrealistic and imbalanced...
     
  16. bgart5

    bgart5 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    True, it was exploitable, but I would like to see something like that.

    And, I think it would be interesting if the same thing could happen to your civ. You'd be going along and all of a sudden have half of your citys under someone elses controll. Hmm, on second thought, that sounds like an immersive feature, but not much fun.
     
  17. The Last Conformist

    The Last Conformist Irresistibly Attractive

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    27,779
    Location:
    Not on your side
    I can recall exactly one instance in any Civ game in which the loss of my capital was not swiftly followed by my elimination from the game or my giving it up as hopeless.
     
  18. Herrs

    Herrs Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2001
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Sweden
    Either way there should be some punishment for loosing your capital, maybe a period of anarchy or something. As it is now, a civ might even benifit from loosing the capital if the new location is better than the old.

    It shoul'nt be treated like any city when conquered.
     
  19. The Last Conformist

    The Last Conformist Irresistibly Attractive

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    27,779
    Location:
    Not on your side
    I can't recall any AI civ benefiting from a loss of its capital in any of my games - it's at any rate not a common occurence.

    I wouldn't mind some suitable penalty for the loss of a capital, but it shouldn't encourage "surgical" strikes against capitals as a sure-fire way of defeating stronger enemies; that's bad for realism and bad for gameplay.
     
  20. punkbass2000

    punkbass2000 Des An artiste

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    7,230
    Location:
    A(sia) Minor
    I agree with TLC. I think WW is enough of a penalty. You lose a city, your people are unhappy. Makes sense, isn't game breaking and doesn't give way to too many exploits. Maybe you could have population in the city determine the amount of WW and things like that, with the capital causing highest amount or some such.
     

Share This Page