1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Esemjay's KFM Converter

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Utility Programs' started by esemjay, Feb 13, 2008.

  1. esemjay

    esemjay Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    386
    Location:
    USA
    To keep the XML files simple, KonFM just assumes that all animations can lead into all other animations; it only makes the KFM files ~1KB larger, but it made the XML more user friendly.

    Thanks for that list, though! :D It's referenced in the first post now. I'm glad to see that people actually like KonFM :D
     
  2. snipperrabbit!!

    snipperrabbit!! Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,396
    Hi, esemjay ! I noticed that Nifskope can display the kfm when selecting the right parameter in the view menu :


    Didn't know if it is usefull to you but thought it is a nice way to bookmark this thread.

    And no, it is not possible yet to change things to the kfm window in Nifskope by right clicking (just names by double clicking :confused: ).

    Anyway, :goodjob: , Thanks !
     
  3. esemjay

    esemjay Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    386
    Location:
    USA
    That would've made things a lot easier! :p
     
  4. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    You're welcome. And I also featured you in the very next Modcast Episode for the podcasts. I have a whole segment where we talk about your project, so be sure to listen in :)

    (maybe we can even get you to come onto the show :D )
     
  5. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    oh yeah, and check out the unit i made using your Konverter ;)

    chuck norris
     
  6. esemjay

    esemjay Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    386
    Location:
    USA
    If you can get me a date and time, I'll talk to you guys :p
     
  7. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    yeah, probly in about 4-5 weeks. keep in touch with me

    you can reach me at ringworldwu with yahoo messenger :)
     
  8. esemjay

    esemjay Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    386
    Location:
    USA
    Unfortunately, I won't be able to make it in that timeframe. I'm going to be unavailable for at least 6-8 weeks, starting in 3 weeks.
     
  9. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    what are you doing this upcomming sunday? thats when we record next
     
  10. esemjay

    esemjay Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    386
    Location:
    USA
    I'm pretty sure I'm free Sunday
     
  11. GarretSidzaka

    GarretSidzaka Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    4,696
    Location:
    Arizona
    allright, email me through my profile and i will respond with what you need for the show and when to show up :)
     
  12. esemjay

    esemjay Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    386
    Location:
    USA
    These files are now re-uploaded to the database- the Tutorial, Executable, XML and such are now all in one file hosted on the site. The tutorial was previously inaccessible, since it was lost in the hacker attack. I'm sorry for any inconveniences that may have caused.
     
  13. Bangra 7

    Bangra 7 The Port Of Call

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    162
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    Thanks for the Converter. Putting it to use right now!
     
  14. WilliamOfOrange

    WilliamOfOrange Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    998
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    This is sweet! I tried playing around with using Strike B or C (changing the numbers, too), but the worker just hunches or stands there. I was just curious if it was possible to get the worker to attack with the shovel or axe. I just wanted to know the reason it is the axe in this case, because I wanted to know what else was possible.

    It's probably a bit more involved, but could we have them attacking with maces or spears?

    Thanks again for the converter!
     
  15. esemjay

    esemjay Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    386
    Location:
    USA
    Thank you, it's been a while since I've done any development on this. I intended to put out a KonverterFM v2 but got caught up in other things. Basically, I was planning on doing a real-time updater that didn't need XML manipulation on the user's part.

    I chose the axe animation, because it already looks like an attack animation. The shovel and rake just didn't seem menacing enough. I'm not entirely sure why it resulted in them just standing still- but the hunch is the "skip turn" animation. Adding maces and spears is THEORETICALLY possible, but requires manipulation of the actual .nif files, I believe. I'm 100% sure you COULD add in additional items, but I never figured out how to get them to show up during the animations. I ended up with Navy SEAL's parachuting in with no parachutes.
     
  16. smeagolheart

    smeagolheart Monarch

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    924
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I realize this thread hasn't been touched in a long time, but it seems to be the only tool there is for KFM modification that I can see soooooo.

    I can't run the program. I'm running win7 64bit. I open a kfm with it and get this error.



    Am I doing it wrong? Anyone else get this error?
     
  17. esemjay

    esemjay Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    386
    Location:
    USA
    I actually do not support this product anymore. This project was originally developed on Windows XP by reverse engineering the KFM files in a hex editor, and cross-referencing the results between multiple animation files until I had documented (almost) every byte in the file. If memory serves, there was only a small portion of the file that went undocumented. If the 32 bit and 64 bit operating systems require different types of KFM file, then the program will not work. I don't see that being the case, but stranger things have happened.

    In any case, it works on my Windows7 32bit O/S.

    The error, however, implies that the exception was while disassembling the KFM file. There is literally NO custom code between the "Select KFM file" and KonverterFM. It's Window's select file dialog box. The entire interface, as the user sees it, was a frontend to a C++ version of the program that ran as a command-line tool and was converted to C#; so if you're going to experience an error before Decoding/Encoding, it's going to be a permissions issue (Windows isn't allowing you to open those files)

    If, however, it's a program issue in the disassembly process, it either points (again) to a permissions issue, that Windows doesn't know how to operate this program, OR that the file is using a different format from what I designed this tool to read/write. The following steps should remedy all but the last case, and I don't use a 64bit operating system; nor do I have the documentation for KFM files anymore.

    Hopefully, the following steps will solve your problem.

    If you are working on a copy in your Program Files tree, try copying the file out of your Program Files to a working folder that you "Own" and have admin rights to; that way, if it's a permissions issue, you can do the changes and copy them into the "Game's" folder when you are done editing.

    If that does not solve the issue, try running it in 32-bit compatibility mode.

    If that still does not solve the issue, try running it in WindowsXP compatibility mode.

    If that STILL does not work, try running it in 32-bit Windows XP compatibility mode as an administrator.

    The ONLY error-catching this program has is to prevent you from trying to decode a KFM file that does not exist. Other than that, it will encode EXACTLY what you tell it to. If you don't finish your XML file, it won't finish the KFM file; if you have errors in the XML, it'll encode those errors; if you encode a blank XML file, you'll get a "Blank" KFM file.
     
  18. smeagolheart

    smeagolheart Monarch

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    924
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I tried various compatiblity modes and the windows xp mode virtual machine thing. They all gave the same error reading past EOF thing. I'm trying to decode leaderhead kfms, am I doing it wrong?
     
  19. esemjay

    esemjay Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    386
    Location:
    USA
    It wasn't designed for the leaderhead KFM's. It was only tested on units.
     
  20. smeagolheart

    smeagolheart Monarch

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    924
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    ah I see
     

Share This Page