1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[FIXED] Game crashes immediately after saving

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Bug Reports' started by Thormodr, Sep 23, 2010.

  1. Thormodr

    Thormodr Servant of Civ Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    4,886
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    I have noticed whenever I save the game, the game crashes immediately after this. Even before I return to the game. It's rather annoying as it takes a few minutes to start up the game again.

    I also noticed that the game crashes about 50% of the time when I access the advanced setup menu when I am trying to set up a game.
     
  2. ainwood

    ainwood Consultant. Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,083
    What are your system specs? How much hard disk space do you have? Has this always happened? Does it only happen after you've been playing for a long while (doing lots of loading & saving?)
     
  3. Sindri Pink

    Sindri Pink Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    Gefle / Sweden
    The exact same thing happens to me too, almost every time I save the game. As soon as I get back to the options screen the game freezes. I have no mods, and a computer well beyond minimum specs (2.66 GHz Quad core, 6gb RAM, 1gb video card, Vista 64-bit, over 100gb free disk space).
     
  4. Sindri Pink

    Sindri Pink Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    Gefle / Sweden
    BUMP. This still happens to me over 50% of the time. Extremely infuriating as it's taking a lot of gametime from me having to restart every other time I save the game.
     
  5. Thrasymachus

    Thrasymachus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    The brain stem
    Confirmed.

    I'm playing on a VAIO laptop, i7 Q740 (1.73gHz), 6GB RAM, Nvidia GEForce 330M, 64-bit Windows 7 Home Premium.

    Game crashes almost* every time I save, sometimes when I open the save game menu.




    * - Only one time has this not been the case, and I was unable to duplicate.
     
  6. Lorteungen

    Lorteungen Warlord

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    københavn
    This is driving me nuts! Around turn 150 or so the game starts crashing when I save, getting more frequent each turn. Around midgame it's basically every other time I save. A couple of times it has happened even before I got to save the game, crashing as soon as I opened the save screen.

    Playing standard maps with 8 AI's, all settings at highest, 1680x1050.

    specs:
    Windows 7 home (64)
    AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition 1
    ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO 1
    Kingston HyperX - 2x2048 MB DDR3
    Asus GTX 460 768MB
     
  7. Lorteungen

    Lorteungen Warlord

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    københavn
    Am I really the only one left with this problem? Was it solved with a patch for you guys?
     
  8. Petek

    Petek Alpha Centaurian Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,647
    Location:
    Berkeley, Calif., USA
    No, the problem of late game crashes hasn't been solved. Things to try:

    1. Update video drivers.
    2. Lower your video settings in the options menu.
    3. Verify the integrity of your game cache via Steam
    4. Reduce the number of City States (or eliminate them completely).

    The last suggestion is the result of one player reporting that it solved his crashes. If you decide to try it, please report back with the results.
     
  9. Lorteungen

    Lorteungen Warlord

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    københavn
    Thanks, I'll try those. How do I do #3 though? I'm new to steam.
     
  10. Petek

    Petek Alpha Centaurian Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,647
    Location:
    Berkeley, Calif., USA
    Open Steam, go to Library, Games. Right-click on Sid Meier's Civilization V. Select Properties, Local Files, Verify Integrity of Game Cache.
     
  11. Thrasymachus

    Thrasymachus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    The brain stem
    I found simply playing it in DX9 instead of DX10/11 fixed whatever my issue was.
     

Share This Page