1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Food Distribution

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Mod Components' started by Jupin, Aug 27, 2009.

  1. Tasunke

    Tasunke Crazy Horse

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,800
    Location:
    the 1800s
    MoAR food! nom nom nom :3
     
  2. Yared

    Yared That Guy

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,516
    Location:
    Hufvudstaden
    Can't anyone like, settle a city where there are only plain hills with mines, redirect food to it so it can use those hills and then post a screen shot?
     
  3. Nor'easter

    Nor'easter Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,537
    Good point. You could have the distance modifier itself modified by techs or resources. Historically, before the advent of refrigeration food was preserved with spices.

    So access to spices would more easily allow transport of food over longer distances. And eventually, researching Refrigeration would allow even longer transport. Just a thought.
     
  4. MagisterCultuum

    MagisterCultuum Great Sage

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    16,229
    Location:
    Kael's head
    This looks interesting.

    Might I suggest than rather than having cities be bale to import or export up to 4 food all the time that different techs increase the limit? In the early game most settlements would have to be self sufficient, while in the modern era a rural breadbasket could support metropoles elsewhere.
     
  5. Buck_Nekkid

    Buck_Nekkid Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Excellent idea, especially when combined with the distance modifier.

    Seems like CIV II's caravans could take food to other cities or something like that. Anyone remember?
     
  6. westamastaflash

    westamastaflash Lord Commander

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    933
    Caravans were the Chuck Norris of Civ II. Food wherever you wanted it, Rushing wonders in 1 turn, massive gold from trade routes...
     
  7. Some guy

    Some guy Warlord

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    213
    This importing/ exporting of food/ production/ commerce is something that should have originally been in this game. I really hope this idea evolves.
     
  8. Ninja2

    Ninja2 Great Engineer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,142
    Location:
    Denmarkia
    Very nice idea, definitely don't give up and keep building this idea. You could team up or ask for python assistance with some of the gurus around here, I'm sure they'd be interested in this also. I'm not one of those gurus, unfortunately.
     
  9. Aussie_Lurker

    Aussie_Lurker Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    7,746
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Wow, this is a *really* cool idea, Jupin, & a really amazing start. It would be so great to see some refinements to this mod, beyond getting the AI to use it. For instance, making the maximum food export per city (either total or number of food exporting trade routes) tech dependent. Also, it would be good to see this work for hammers as well.

    Anyway, just some more ideas to consider, and keep up the fantastic work :).

    Aussie.
     
  10. Jupin

    Jupin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    Thanks all for comments and cheering me up. i'm still around here but this month i'm dedicating my free time to boring stuff like exams :(
     
  11. lukaspl

    lukaspl Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    Hi,

    The idea is fantastic... Just it doesn't work with my BTS.
    What I've done was overwriting the original files in BTS subdirectories with yours and simply starting a new game - the old saved games can't be opened now as the game crushes. So to hurry everything I just added few cities in the Worldbuilder, added some improvements around some cities, added some technologies and tried to send some food.
    CTRL+X doesn't work at all (while I'm in the city screen and out of it).
    Am I missing something?
    My BTS is 3.19 version.
     
  12. Some guy

    Some guy Warlord

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    213
    I was having the same problem.
     
  13. Chinese American

    Chinese American Hamtastic Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    432
    Location:
    Chinatown, USA
    How do you control who gets the food and how much? Because 1. trade routes hand out bonuses and are not directly used to control what the cities can import or export. 2. you can't control which cities have trade routes. What if it turned out the city is exporting food to a city from another civ?

    My More Trade Routes mod had this. You can store food and hammers in a national storage and directly give it to a city. This is easy to use and easy to teach the AI.
     
  14. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    I would love to see your More Trade Routes for BTS, but it's way out of date.
     
  15. Chinese American

    Chinese American Hamtastic Knight

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    432
    Location:
    Chinatown, USA
    My avatar reveals a glimpse of the food and hammer storage system found in the modpack. Also, I have uploaded the source code that you can dig through, if you have the patience and diligence. Alas, I don't have BTS.
     
  16. mechaerik

    mechaerik Tuturuu!

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,064
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    :facepalm: You aren't supposed to overwrite your original files. Best thing to do is to reinstall Beyond the Sword. There's a reason BtS has a Mods folder.
     
  17. patriachica

    patriachica Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Loaded the mod and, um, how do I use it? I'm not finding any controls. There doesn't appear to be anything new in the city screen or any menus. :confused:
     
  18. CaptainMidnight

    CaptainMidnight Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    141
  19. andikato

    andikato Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Indonesia
    this mod had lot potential
     

Share This Page