1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Format thine drive; suffer the consequence

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by BeyondCivilized, Nov 2, 2007.

  1. BeyondCivilized

    BeyondCivilized Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Sidon, Lebanon
    So if I formated Windows XP because it became a cesspool of virus, and don't want to delete my CivIV directory (Moved it into another drive) and after the re installation of Windows XP, I require the privilege of accessing the saves and mods (From Windows Explorer) without resorting to launch the game first, also I've just downloaded patch 3.13 and it doesn't seem to recognize the game.

    How do I fix all that? Does anyone know what the hell I'm talking about.
     
  2. LemonJello

    LemonJello Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    The Crossroads of the Marine Corps
    Moving the CivIV directory probably caused a lot of the problems. Also, I think, the WinXP registry doesn't have the entries in it for Civ to run correctly, the OS won't "find" Civ to run it, most likely won't even recognize it as a program.

    You probably don't want to hear this, but I think you're going to have to re-install Civ.
     
  3. BeyondCivilized

    BeyondCivilized Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Sidon, Lebanon
    That's going to be a chore.

    So do you think it's possible to force the new installation of Windows XP to register CIV as a program?
     
  4. LemonJello

    LemonJello Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    The Crossroads of the Marine Corps
    Not to my knowledge. The install process writes to the registry info on where and how Civ operates and creates the shortcuts to the .exe to run Civ. Have you tried to run Civ since the reload?

    If you have all the mods and saves moved, you will still be able to get to and use them, once Civ is up and running again.

    I feel your pain. I had to rebuild my wife's desktop, and when the OS (WinXp) reloaded, it wiped out the file allocation table and I lost all her iTunes and address book info that was on an external drive that I forgot to disconnect.
     
  5. BeyondCivilized

    BeyondCivilized Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Sidon, Lebanon
    The game runs fine, it even recognizes the CD-ROM.
     
  6. Lord_Zath

    Lord_Zath Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    326
    if that's the case, place a shortcut to the game's executable to the desktop. Also, you might be able to just reinstall BTS...

    But yeah, the registry is wiped, so I'd expect most programs to not work if you just copied them over.
     
  7. GVBN

    GVBN Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Finland
    As others have pointed out already, you're missing a registry key

    Either install the game or add those reg keys manually

    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\{32E4F0D2-C135-475E-A841-1D59A0D22989}]
    "UninstallString"="C:\\Program Files\\InstallShield Installation Information\\{32E4F0D2-C135-475E-A841-1D59A0D22989}\\setup.exe -runfromtemp -l0x0009 -removeonly"
    "LogFile"="C:\\Program Files\\InstallShield Installation Information\\{32E4F0D2-C135-475E-A841-1D59A0D22989}\\setup.ilg"
    "InstallLocation"="C:\\Program Files\\Firaxis Games\\Sid Meier's Civilization 4\\Beyond the Sword"
    "ProductGuid"="{32E4F0D2-C135-475E-A841-1D59A0D22989}"
    "InstallSource"=""
    "DisplayName"="Sid Meier's Civilization 4 - Beyond the Sword"
    "Publisher"="Firaxis Games"
    "URLInfoAbout"="http://www.2kgames.com/civ4"
    "HelpLink"="http://www.2kgames.com/civ4/support.htm"
    "Readme"="C:\\Program Files\\Firaxis Games\\Sid Meier's Civilization 4\\Beyond the Sword\\Readme.htm"
    "RegOwner"=""
    "DisplayIcon"="C:\\Program Files\\Firaxis Games\\Sid Meier's Civilization 4\\Beyond the Sword\\Civ4BeyondSword.exe"
    "NoModify"=dword:00000001
    "NoRemove"=dword:00000000
    "NoRepair"=dword:00000001
    "InstallDate"=""
    "Language"=dword:00000009
    "DisplayVersion"="3.01"
    "Version"=dword:03010000
    "MajorVersion"=dword:00000003
    "MinorVersion"=dword:00000001
    "LogMode"=dword:00000001
     
  8. BeyondCivilized

    BeyondCivilized Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Sidon, Lebanon
    I'm willing to go with this option. But I would like to know if there is an easier way to add all these registry keys into Windows Registry?
     
  9. BeyondCivilized

    BeyondCivilized Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Sidon, Lebanon
    SOLVED! All I had to do is move the directory to a folder in the Program Files which I'm supposed to rename as Fireaxis Games, and I wouldn't have thought of that if you didn't provide me with that list of registry keys.
     

Share This Page