Getting Civ4 running under Ubuntu Linux

Discussion in 'News Updates' started by ainwood, Jul 11, 2009.

  1. ainwood

    ainwood Consultant. Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,083
    Former moderator damunzy has written a "how to" for getting Civ4, Warlords and Beyond the Sword (all patched to the latest versions) running on Ubuntu 9.04 using Wine v1.1.25. The thread is located here in the Tech Support forums.

    So: For those of you wanting to give Linux a go, but not wanting to lose the ability to play civ, or those of you who already run Ubuntu who need a bit of help getting Civ running, head on over to his thread and give the tutorial a try. :goodjob:
     
  2. Wright

    Wright Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Wow, very strange; I've just started trying to do this today and after messing around for a while I come on here and see a front page post about it. :lol:
     
  3. Thorn

    Thorn King

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    820
    Location:
    Project Tic-Toc
    Nice to see! :)
    But this is exactly the kind of thing that has driven me away from Linux. All those steps just to get Civ4 to run? It looks like a guide to compile the SDK! :p
     
  4. JohnSearle

    JohnSearle Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    88
    I've heard late game is pretty laggy, and that multiplayer is non-functional. Can anyone confirm this?
     
  5. unclethrill

    unclethrill Why am I up right now?

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,237
    Location:
    Germany
    multi-player doesn't work. late game is less laggy than it is in vista on the same computer.

    The install really wasn't that hard. The step-by-step really spells out every little detail. The real plus side is that once it is installed, all you have to do is copy the folder from one computer to another or one install to another. You never have to go through the whole install process again.
     
  6. funkymunky

    funkymunky Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    The reason installing Civ4 is such a big task is because Linux doesn't have native support for DirectX, Microsoft XML and several other API's that are native to Windows (and taken for granted by the software developers who write for Windows). So you need to install a bunch of those dlls to get the game to work, and you need to make sure that the versions you install are compatible with Civ. I got it working a while back on Intrepid (8.04) after much effort. Wine has progressed a lot in the past 18 months, so I expect it to be easier than it was when I tried it out. I might have to try it again since I upgraded, but just no time right now.
     
  7. Ran

    Ran Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    I use a similar method to play Civ on my linux machine -- aside from not seeing city progress bars or animated cursors it is faster than when I boot into Windows. MUCH faster than Civ3 on Linux.

    It may be because I use the steam version, but if something goes wrong and there is a crash or you shut down, I often can't get Civ4 to run again -- so I have a copy of my .wine directory to instant restore if that happens again. (It's happened to me twice.)
     
  8. Bratmon

    Bratmon Super Bratmon 3

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    /dev/random
    Just a reminder: the guide is still a work in progress.
     

Share This Page