1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[GUIDE] Map scripts

Discussion in 'Strategy Section' started by tu_79, Oct 2, 2018.

  1. civplayer33

    civplayer33 King

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    965
    Just as a little note: Venezuela is a tropical country and has the largest known Oil reserves; other large reserves are located where forests used to be many millions of years ago but aren't anymore (see some of the Arab countries); Russia also has large Oil reserves and there the latitudes are again very different.
    Since it seems that most Oil was generated from trees that lived 100s of millions of years ago, which is a time span that is large enough for plate tectonics to change entire continental shapes and locations, as well as climatic effects to change entire landscapes, it's not really that simple to make a rule about where the Oil should be.

    /smart-ass out
     
  2. Kim Dong Un

    Kim Dong Un The One & Unly Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2017
    Messages:
    653
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pyongyang
    I understand there is specific execution behind the island formation, but there were a few instances I saw in testing that were just flat out crazy. It's not enough evidence from just a couple games, so I'll give it another shot.

    Thank you though, for tending to my nitpicking, and I look forward to having the resource issue addressed in the future! Will boot up a few games later to have a look at the tweaks and let you know.
     
  3. JMA2286

    JMA2286 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2018
    Messages:
    93
    Gender:
    Male
    Not saying there would be no oil at all in the tropics, just that it would be in small pockets, like an odd Venezuela, Nigeria, etc. The subtropic and boreal climates are where the clear majority of oil is on Earth though, so it's a safe rule to make.
     
  4. civplayer33

    civplayer33 King

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    965
    Yes, but it's not a huge majority; about half the countries in the top 15 proven oil reserves are not subtropical. I just hope that Oil isn't going to be clustered around certain latitudes too extremely.
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2019
    vyyt likes this.
  5. MorphBer

    MorphBer Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    180
    Stupid question incoming: so right now I replace the original Communitas file in the VP maps folder with this right? Is tehre a way to add it to the maps (by calling it communitas+ or something)
     
  6. JMA2286

    JMA2286 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2018
    Messages:
    93
    Gender:
    Male
    It won't be too heavy, probably 70% subtropical and boreal, 30% tropical and temperate.
     
  7. tu_79

    tu_79 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6,965
    Location:
    Malaga (Spain)
    I've tweaked your map settings to this, and finally I got a game where I could settle 8 progress cities (I was faster than my neighbours):

    Code:
        mglobal.hillsBlendPercent        = 0.75 -- Chance for flat land to become hills per near mountain. Requires at least 2 near mountains. Default 0.45 (I like more hills near mountains)
        mglobal.coastScatter            = 0.06     --Recommended range:[0.01 to 0.3] Default 0.09
                                                --Higher values result in more islands and variance on landmasses and coastlines. (Having a bit less islands increases settling room in continents
        mglobal.riverRainCheatFactor    = 2.00    -- Values greater than one favor watershed size. Values less than one favor actual rain amount. Default 1.25 (There were too many small rivers)
        mglobal.fishTargetFertility        = 80    -- fish appear to create this average city fertility Default 60 (Still very few fishes)
    
            [GameInfo.Worlds.WORLDSIZE_STANDARD.ID] = {99, 65},
    
     
    KaoticKanine, vyyt and Kim Dong Un like this.
  8. Kim Dong Un

    Kim Dong Un The One & Unly Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2017
    Messages:
    653
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pyongyang
    Thanks Tu! Will try it out later.
     
  9. doublex55

    doublex55 Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    475
    Any update for resource distribution?
     
  10. ryanmusante

    ryanmusante Regular Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2018
    Messages:
    1,086
    @doublex55 As in this?
     
  11. black213

    black213 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,487
    I think he refers to Communitas' very generous (other than fish) resource distribution.
     
    ryanmusante likes this.
  12. Rekk

    Rekk Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    1,053
    Even sparse communitas has more resources than a standard game (aside from fish).
     
  13. MorphBer

    MorphBer Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    180
    I tried this and there were alot of Mountains and deserts so there was very little space to settle. Only 1 try though and sweden and mongolia next to me (Austria) so I quickly abandoned that game.
     
  14. MidnightAfterglow

    MidnightAfterglow Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    Messages:
    28
    Question / Feature Request: I use the Reseed! mod to preview maps and regenerate them until I get one that I like without having to back out to the main menu and sit through all the loading to reinitialize all of the mods and make a new game every time (easily about 5-10+ minutes worth each time). But when I attempt to do so with the Communitas script, the mod gives this error:

    Spoiler :


    I don't know what it means to "include the map into the VFS" and there is no .civ5mod file to edit (the mapscript has only a .LUA file as far as I can tell). Would one of you code-literate individuals be so kind as to explain what I need to do in order to allow Reseed! to work with the Communitas script, or "include it into the VFS" (whatever that means)? Would be greatly appreciated.
     
  15. civplayer33

    civplayer33 King

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    965
    Don't know if this will work, but you can try setting the appropriate flag in the modinfo file of CP.
    That means: go into your MODS folder, open the file "(1) Community Patch (v89).modinfo" in the "(1) Community Patch" folder and change the "0" in the line
    Code:
        <File md5="450848E5D345F2D9155411567E7D5238" import="0">Mapscripts/Communitas.lua</File>
    to a "1" (after the "import=").
     
    MidnightAfterglow likes this.
  16. MidnightAfterglow

    MidnightAfterglow Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    Messages:
    28
    That did the trick. Thanks.

    It has been quite a while since I've used this map script, but has Communitas always been so devoid of Jungle tiles or is this a new change? I re-rolled numerous maps with different climate settings (usually setting rainfall to "Wet" with "Temperate/Hot" temperature generates extensive jungle regions in other map scripts). Seems like no matter what settings I chose, there were only a handful of jungle tiles on the map, and most of those were restricted to chains of islands.
     
  17. civplayer33

    civplayer33 King

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    965
    You're welcome; haven't used the new Communitas yet, as it's been updated in VP very recently (in the latest version of CP/VP). I did see some jungles with the old version, though.
     
  18. MidnightAfterglow

    MidnightAfterglow Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    Messages:
    28
    Indeed. The update is what got me interested in trying it again.
     
  19. tu_79

    tu_79 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6,965
    Location:
    Malaga (Spain)
    Something I noticed is that other map scripts generate bigger patches of uninterrupted forest/jungles, while here, the geostrophic thing makes funny shapes near mountains. It's like mountains could dry up a region to the west and make it rain more to the east, which is very earth-like, actually, but prevents the whole area to be covered by the same trees. Maybe it makes harder to place three sawmills together?
     
  20. Kim Dong Un

    Kim Dong Un The One & Unly Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2017
    Messages:
    653
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pyongyang
    *Sighs* yes, the map is currently unbalanced for gameplay, but nobody wants to listen to me I guess. Even read the issues in the 2/17 thread about people already complaining they've had to restart games half way through because they discovered invulnerable Inca with 50+ mountains. Then you have the resource issue and too many snaky continents (plus user Black213 having to again suggest bumping land% to allow for more settling room with standard settings); now we apparently have lack of grouped jungle/forest...

    I really want a proper Communitas, but until it's fixed there are going to be posts about people wondering wtf is up with the new Communitas update. I'm all for the realism attempt, and JMA has done fine work, but it's a fine line. Personally, all the other stuff is secondary to the resource issue (although some people like Swagolo enjoy it), but a poster had mentioned it would take a lot more work than they're willing to do to fix it.
     
    MidnightAfterglow likes this.

Share This Page