1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Help! What's wrong with my xml file?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Creation & Customization' started by Beginner, Apr 9, 2006.

  1. Beginner

    Beginner Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    I can't the game to run! Every time I start it, this error message appears when it's loading the xml codes: "The ending code </UnitClassInfos> is not in accordance with the starting code <UnitClassInfo>".

    This is the beginning and ending of my UnitClassInfos file:

    <?xml version="1.0"?>
    <!-- edited with XMLSPY v2004 rel. 2 U (http://www.xmlspy.com) by Jesse Smith (Firaxis Ga -->
    <!-- Sid Meier's Civilization 4 -->
    <!-- Copyright Firaxis Games 2005 -->
    <!-- -->
    <!-- UnitClass Schema -->
    <Civ4UnitClassInfos xmlns="x-schema:CIV4UnitSchema.xml">

    <UnitClassInfos>
    <UnitClassInfo>
    <Type>UNITCLASS_LION</Type>
    <Description>TXT_KEY_UNIT_LION</Description>
    <iMaxGlobalInstances>-1</iMaxGlobalInstances>
    <iMaxTeamInstances>-1</iMaxTeamInstances>
    <iMaxPlayerInstances>-1</iMaxPlayerInstances>
    <DefaultUnit>UNIT_LION</DefaultUnit>
    </UnitClassInfo>

    (etc)



    <UnitClassInfo>
    <Type>UNITCLASS_RUSSIA_TANK34</Type>
    <Description>TXT_KEY_UNIT_RUSSIA_TANK</Description>
    <iMaxGlobalInstances>-1</iMaxGlobalInstances>
    <iMaxTeamInstances>-1</iMaxTeamInstances>
    <iMaxPlayerInstances>-1</iMaxPlayerInstances>
    <DefaultUnit>UNIT_RUSSIA_TANK3</DefaultUnit>
    </UnitClassInfo>
    </UnitClassInfos>
    </Civ4UnitClassInfos>

    What is wrong with the file? Why won't the game run?:cry:
     
  2. Dual

    Dual Gun Mage

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    The Gateway to the West
    From the error message, it sounds like you have an extra </UnitClassInfos> tag somewhere in your code that doesn't belong. You're going to have to look for it and erase it.

    If you're having trouble finding it, you could attach the file to your post so we can download it and take a look.
     
  3. Beginner

    Beginner Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    Managed to attach it.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Dual

    Dual Gun Mage

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    The Gateway to the West
  5. Beginner

    Beginner Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    Thanks a lot, it works now! How silly of me not to notice that error...
     
  6. Dual

    Dual Gun Mage

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    The Gateway to the West

Share This Page