1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

How to Upload a mod to Steam Workshop

Discussion in 'Mod Creation Help' started by kantorr, Mar 1, 2017.

  1. kantorr

    kantorr Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    The steam workshop uploader from the dev tools crashes as soon as I choose my .modinfo to upload. I have all my modfiles in the same folder as the .modinfo. Not sure what else I need. .modinfo contains the following: (sorry I dont know how to use spoilers)

    All of the other 4 files needed for the mod are in the same folder.

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
    <Mod id="8FE1DC75-2CCA-428A-B1B4-605353DAE06B" version="1">
    <Properties>
    <Name>LOC_MOD_TITLE</Name>
    <Teaser>LOC_MOD_TEASER</Teaser>
    <Description>LOC_MOD_DESCRIPTION</Description>
    <Authors>LOC_MOD_AUTHORS</Authors>
    </Properties>
    <Components>
    <UpdateDatabase id="TZ_UPDATE_DATABASE">
    <Properties>
    <RuleSet>RULESET_TZ</RuleSet>
    </Properties>
    <Items>
    <File>TZ_Policies.xml</File>
    </Items>
    </UpdateDatabase>
    <ImportFiles id="TZ_IMPORT">
    <Items>
    <File>WorldBuilderBordered.lua</File>
    </Items>
    </ImportFiles>
    </Components>
    <Settings>
    <Map id="TZ_MAP">
    <Properties>
    <Group>TZ_Maps</Group>
    <Name>LOC_TZ_MAP_NAME</Name>
    <Description>LOC_TZ_MAP_DESCRIPTION</Description>
    </Properties>
    <Items>
    <File>TZ.Civ6Map</File>
    </Items>
    </Map>
    <Map id="TZ_BORDERS">
    <Properties>
    <Group>TZ_Maps</Group>
    <Name>Blank Bordered Map</Name>
    <Description>A bordered map filled with Ocean tiles</Description>
    </Properties>
    <Items>
    <File>WorldBuilderBordered.lua</File>
    </Items>
    </Map>
    <Custom id="TZ_SETTINGS">
    <Items>
    <File>TZ_Config.xml</File>
    </Items>
    </Custom>
    </Settings>
    <LocalizedText>
    <Text id="LOC_MOD_TITLE"><en_US>Custom Map</en_US></Text>
    <Text id="LOC_MOD_TEASER"><en_US>A simple test.</en_US></Text>
    <Text id="LOC_MOD_DESCRIPTION"><en_US>This is a basic test</en_US></Text>
    <Text id="LOC_MOD_AUTHORS"><en_US>TZ</en_US></Text>
    <Text id="LOC_TZ_MAP_NAME"><en_US>TZ Map</en_US></Text>
    <Text id="LOC_TZ_MAP_DESCRIPTION"><en_US>A basic test</en_US></Text>
    <Text id="LOC_TZ_BORDERS_NAME"><en_US>TZ Map</en_US></Text>
    <Text id="LOC_TZ_BORDERS_DESCRIPTION"><en_US>A basic test</en_US></Text>
    </LocalizedText>
    <Files>
    <File>TZ.Civ6Map</File>
    <File>TZ_Config.xml</File>
    <File>TZ_Policies.xml</Files>
    <File>WorldBuilderBordered.lua</File>
    </Files>
    </Mod>
     
  2. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,690
    Location:
    London, UK
    According to @anansethespider maker of Ananse's BFG Modpack:

    It seems to be picky about what .modinfo files it will accept. The exact criteria it uses to determine passability I have absolutely no idea, so your best bet is subscribing to my modpack and just copying the exact order and grammar of my modinfo file. Essentially, I have no idea why anything works....but for whatever reason, the way my modinfo is formatted seems to pass the check.
     
  3. LeeS

    LeeS Imperator Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    7,042
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    first step is to eliminate all these: LOC_MOD_TITLE, etc.

    state the Mod-Author, Mod Title, etc, directly as like this:
    Code:
    	<Properties>
    		<Name>Custom Map</Name>
    		<Teaser>A simple test.</Teaser>
    		<Description>This is a basic test</Description>
    		<Authors>TZ</Authors>
    	</Properties>
    And eliminate all this:
    Code:
    	<LocalizedText>
    		<Text id="LOC_MOD_TITLE"><en_US>Custom Map</en_US></Text>
    		<Text id="LOC_MOD_TEASER"><en_US>A simple test.</en_US></Text>
    		<Text id="LOC_MOD_DESCRIPTION"><en_US>This is a basic test</en_US></Text>
    		<Text id="LOC_MOD_AUTHORS"><en_US>TZ</en_US></Text>
    		<Text id="LOC_TZ_MAP_NAME"><en_US>TZ Map</en_US></Text>
    		<Text id="LOC_TZ_MAP_DESCRIPTION"><en_US>A basic test</en_US></Text>
    		<Text id="LOC_TZ_BORDERS_NAME"><en_US>TZ Map</en_US></Text>
    		<Text id="LOC_TZ_BORDERS_DESCRIPTION"><en_US>A basic test</en_US></Text>
    	</LocalizedText>
    ModBuddy is not using <LocalizedText> when it spits out a modinfo file, and the only mod I've uploaded to Steam so far I wrote manually and did not use the LOC_THIS plus <LocalizedText> method. I abandoned using that long ago because if more than one mod uses the same LOC_NAME reference within its modinfo file (ie, a whole bunch of mods are using LOC_MOD_TITLE instead of directly stating the mod-name, it is essentially Russian Roulette which of these mod names will be used.
     
  4. ReichAdler

    ReichAdler Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    89
    Gender:
    Male
    I found it best to create what I wanted to say in modbuddy. Plus use the GUID code/identifier from there.

    There where so many things that stopped my mods from loading it was getting ridiculous.

    No & symbols... they are a no-no... text too long.. name too short... it was all just in the initial bloody wording!
     
  5. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,470
    Location:
    France
    YnAMP was uploaded directly with the tool without any change, and the .modinfo use localization :

    Spoiler :

    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
    <Mod id="36e88483-48fe-4545-b85f-bafc50dde315">
      <Properties>
        <Name>LOC_YNAMP_TITLE</Name>
        <Stability>Alpha</Stability>
        <Teaser>LOC_YNAMP_TEASER</Teaser>
        <Description>LOC_YNAMP_DESCRIPTION</Description>
        <Authors>Gedemon</Authors>
      </Properties>
     
        <Settings>
            <Custom id="YNAMP_SETTING">
                <Items>
                    <File>Configuration/Config.xml</File>
                    <File>Maps/GiantEarth/Config.xml</File>
                    <File>Maps/GreatestEarthMap/Config.xml</File>
                    <File>Maps/PlayEuropeAgain/Config.xml</File>
                    <File>Maps/LargestEarth/Config.xml</File>
                </Items>
            </Custom>
            <LocalizedText id="YNAMP_SETTING_LOC">
                <Items>
                    <File>Configuration/ConfigText.xml</File>
                    <File>Configuration/ConfigText_zh_Hans_CN.xml</File>
                    <File>Configuration/ConfigText_zh_Hant_HK.xml</File>
                    <File>Configuration/ConfigText_pt_BR.xml</File>
                </Items>
            </LocalizedText>
        </Settings>  
        <Components>
            <ImportFiles id="YNAMP_IMPORT">
                <Items>
                    <File>Maps/GiantEarth/GiantEarth.lua</File>
                    <File>Maps/GreatestEarthMap/GreatestEarthMap.lua</File>
                    <File>Maps/PlayEuropeAgain/PlayEuropeAgain.lua</File>
                    <File>Maps/LargestEarth/LargestEarth.lua</File>
                    <File>Override/AssignStartingPlots.lua</File>
                    <File>Scripts/YnAMP_Utils.lua</File>
                </Items>
            </ImportFiles>
            <GameplayScripts>
                <Items>
                    <File>Scripts/YnAMP_Script.lua</File>
                </Items>
            </GameplayScripts>
            <UserInterface>      
                <Properties>
                    <Context>InGame</Context>
                </Properties>
                <Items>
                    <File>Scripts/YnAMP_InGame.xml</File>
                </Items>
            </UserInterface>  
            <UpdateDatabase id="YNAMP_DEFAULT_COMPONENT">
                <Items>
                    <File>Gameplay/Tables.sql</File>
                    <File>Gameplay/GamePlay.sql</File>
                    <File>Gameplay/GamePlay.xml</File>
                    <File>Maps/GiantEarth/Map.xml</File>
                    <File>Maps/GiantEarth/CityMap.xml</File>
                    <File>Maps/GreatestEarthMap/Map.xml</File>
                    <File>Maps/GreatestEarthMap/CityMap.xml</File>
                    <File>Maps/PlayEuropeAgain/Map.xml</File>
                    <File>Maps/PlayEuropeAgain/CityMap.xml</File>
                    <File>Maps/PlayEuropeAgain/CityMap_Arabia.xml</File>
                    <File>Maps/PlayEuropeAgain/CityMap_Greece.xml</File>
                    <File>Maps/PlayEuropeAgain/CityMap_Rome.xml</File>
                    <File>Maps/LargestEarth/Map.xml</File>
                    <File>Maps/LargestEarth/CityMap.xml</File>
                    <File>Gameplay/Resource.xml</File>
                    <File>Gameplay/CityNameByEra.xml</File>
                </Items>
            </UpdateDatabase>
            <UpdateDatabase id="YNAMP_USER_CUSTOMIZATION">
                   <Properties>
                    <LoadOrder>10600</LoadOrder>
                   </Properties>
                <Items>
                    <File>custom.sql</File>
                    <File>custom.xml</File>
                </Items>
            </UpdateDatabase>
            <LocalizedText id="YNAMP_DEFAULT_LOC">
                <Items>
                    <File>Gameplay/GamePlayText.xml</File>
                    <File>Gameplay/GamePlayText_pt_BR.xml</File>
                </Items>
            </LocalizedText>
        </Components>
       
        <LocalizedText>
            <Text id="LOC_YNAMP_TITLE">
                <en_US>Yet (not) Another Maps Pack</en_US>
                <zh_Hans_CN>然而(并非)又一个地图包</zh_Hans_CN>
                <zh_Hant_HK>然而(並非)又一個地圖包</zh_Hant_HK>
            </Text>
            <Text id="LOC_YNAMP_TEASER">
                <en_US>Maps with True or Culturally Linked Start Locations.</en_US>
                <zh_Hans_CN>带有现实世界或人文地理关联出生地的地图包。</zh_Hans_CN>
                <zh_Hant_HK>帶有現實世界或人文地理關聯出生地的地圖包。</zh_Hant_HK>
            </Text>
            <Text id="LOC_YNAMP_DESCRIPTION">
                <en_US>Maps with True or Culturally Linked Starting Location and custom options.</en_US>
                <zh_Hans_CN>带有现实世界或人文地理关联出生地,以及自定义选项的地图包。</zh_Hans_CN>
                <zh_Hant_HK>帶有現實世界或人文地理關聯出生地,以及自定義選項的地圖包。</zh_Hant_HK>
            </Text>
        </LocalizedText>
       
        <Files>
            <File>Configuration/Config.xml</File>
            <File>Maps/GiantEarth/Config.xml</File>
            <File>Maps/GreatestEarthMap/Config.xml</File>
            <File>Maps/PlayEuropeAgain/Config.xml</File>
            <File>Maps/LargestEarth/Config.xml</File>
            <File>Configuration/ConfigText.xml</File>
            <File>Configuration/ConfigText_zh_Hans_CN.xml</File>
            <File>Configuration/ConfigText_zh_Hant_HK.xml</File>
            <File>Configuration/ConfigText_pt_BR.xml</File>
            <File>Gameplay/Tables.sql</File>
            <File>Gameplay/GamePlay.xml</File>
            <File>Gameplay/GamePlay.sql</File>
            <File>Gameplay/GamePlayText.xml</File>
            <File>Gameplay/GamePlayText_pt_BR.xml</File>
            <File>Maps/GiantEarth/Map.xml</File>
            <File>Maps/GiantEarth/CityMap.xml</File>
            <File>Maps/GreatestEarthMap/Map.xml</File>
            <File>Maps/GreatestEarthMap/CityMap.xml</File>
            <File>Maps/PlayEuropeAgain/Map.xml</File>
            <File>Maps/PlayEuropeAgain/CityMap.xml</File>
            <File>Maps/PlayEuropeAgain/CityMap_Arabia.xml</File>
            <File>Maps/PlayEuropeAgain/CityMap_Greece.xml</File>
            <File>Maps/PlayEuropeAgain/CityMap_Rome.xml</File>
            <File>Maps/LargestEarth/Map.xml</File>
            <File>Maps/LargestEarth/CityMap.xml</File>
            <File>Gameplay/Resource.xml</File>
            <File>Gameplay/CityNameByEra.xml</File>
            <File>Maps/GiantEarth/GiantEarth.lua</File>
            <File>Maps/GreatestEarthMap/GreatestEarthMap.lua</File>
            <File>Maps/PlayEuropeAgain/PlayEuropeAgain.lua</File>
            <File>Maps/LargestEarth/LargestEarth.lua</File>
            <File>Override/AssignStartingPlots.lua</File>
            <File>Scripts/YnAMP_Script.lua</File>
            <File>Scripts/YnAMP_Utils.lua</File>
            <File>Scripts/YnAMP_InGame.lua</File>
            <File>Scripts/YnAMP_InGame.xml</File>      
            <File>custom.sql</File>
            <File>custom.xml</File>
        </Files>
    </Mod>
     
  6. LeeS

    LeeS Imperator Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    7,042
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    *shrug* just figured when there are problems it was better to use as modbuddy is spitting things out.

    perhaps the difference is that you customized your LOC_NAME stuff whereas the OP did not. He just used the same ones in the various examples that have been circulating.
     
  7. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,470
    Location:
    France
    Firaxis use them all the time for scenarios/DLC, of course they have the unfair advantage of having the translated texts loaded with the game's base assets.

    IIRC the <LocalizedText> available to us in .modinfo was copied from the "day one" example mods.
     
  8. kantorr

    kantorr Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    Turns out in my files section on of my </File> tags has a typo resulting in two closing </Files> tags which caused the issue. Thanks for the replies
     
  9. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,690
    Location:
    London, UK
    I keep getting the following when trying to submit even the simplest mod after clicking "Upload":

    There was an error :(
    Failed to submit item update - k_EResultFail

    Anyone else seen this?
     
  10. kantorr

    kantorr Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    Do all of the checks pass? (Modinfo exists, less than 8000 characters, all referenced files exist)
     
  11. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,690
    Location:
    London, UK
    Yes.
     
  12. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,470
    Location:
    France
    Have you tried to upload a mod you know is working ? (one of mine on steam using private visibility for example)
     
  13. EthiOPia

    EthiOPia Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2020
    Messages:
    14
    Sorry for bringing such old thread, but did you(or someone else) found solution to this problem?
     

Share This Page