1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

i cant delete or reinstall civilization 4

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Technical Support' started by hunterjake, Sep 30, 2007.

  1. hunterjake

    hunterjake Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    I installed the game then the patch installed and my game crashed
    then i tryed loading up the game it said cant open re-installing this may
    fix the problem so i delete every thing then i go into add or remove
    programs and try to delete it there but it says

    An error has occurred while running the setup.

    Please make sure you have finished any previous setup and
    applications.

    If the error still occurs, please contact your vendor: Firaxis Games.


    then i cant find any other way to delete it and i try search for
    files or
    folders on my computer and it says cant find it, its only in my add
    or remove programs and it wont let me delete it there then when i right
    click explore the cd and try to install it, it says

    The setup has detected that version 1.74.000 of Sid Meier's
    Civilization 4 is already installed.

    This setup installs an earlier version of Sid Meier's Civilization 4
    (1.61)

    you will half to uninstall the previous version before installing
    this version.

    so now i dont know what to do from there me and my brother are having
    this problem and so are other people so please help me fix it
     
  2. GVBN

    GVBN Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Finland
    Delete this folder:
    C:\Program Files\InstallShield Installation Information\{CFBCE791-2D53-4FCE-B3FB-D6E01F4112E8}

    Then open regedit (Start > Run... > regedit) and delete these entries:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\{CFBCE791-2D53-4FCE-B3FB-D6E01F4112E8}
     
  3. hunterjake

    hunterjake Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Thx Man It Worked
     
  4. Neotenke

    Neotenke Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Hey I'm having a similar problem with Civilization IV: Beyond the Sword. After entering:

    C:\Program Files\InstallShield Installation Information\{CFBCE791-2D53-4FCE-B3FB-D6E01F4112E8}

    into the search, I realised that it was specific to the original Civilization IV, as are the registry settings. Is there any chance that you could give me the corresponding directions for BtS? Thank you.
     
  5. Neotenke

    Neotenke Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Never mind - I figured it out myself! Thanks GVBN though for a push in the right direction!
     
  6. Saibot

    Saibot Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    after raking my brains for 2 hours i finally saw this post. tysm, it finally got this mess going the right direction.
     
  7. GVBN

    GVBN Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Finland
    The GUIDs are

    Civ4: {CFBCE791-2D53-4FCE-B3FB-D6E01F4112E8}
    Warlords: {3E4B349F-10B5-4586-9D99-489A90A8B228}
    Beyond the Sword: {32E4F0D2-C135-475E-A841-1D59A0D22989}
     
  8. Thrillology

    Thrillology Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Will I be able to keep all my saved game files?
    I did the same thing, I tried playing civilization 4 game of the year edition (which all it has is a bonus video) online and it updated to that 1.74 and now the game won't run and I want to keep all my saved game files?
    I am using windows vista.
     
  9. Thrillology

    Thrillology Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    I posted that reply for anyone that reads this thread in 2011.
    I know most people have the 5th Civilization, lol.
    So, anyone out there reading this thread?
     
  10. mintegar

    mintegar Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    I think the install will leave your saves alone, but don't know for sure.

    Make backup copy of them just to be sure, you can find them somewhere under the in the My Documents\My Games\[SMC4|BTS|Warlords] folders.
     
  11. castlegard

    castlegard Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    what was your way?
     
  12. mintegar

    mintegar Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    i suppose you have to use the instructions from post #2, but substitute the BTS GUID from post #7
     

Share This Page