Is it just me...

Zerzes

Chieftain
... or is science not given enough credit?

I'm a scientist and not a warmonger, and it really annoys me that I get nothing for it. One of the most successful strategies is to research (next to) nothing, fight like crazy, and trade science like mad. That is sooo cheap!

One of my wishes for civ3 was that scoring should be biased more towards what you have accomplished rather than how big empire you have. One example of that would be extra score for every advance you were first to discover.

Another wish I have is that there should be an option to turn off science trading.

In both cases you are more properly rewarded for creaming some cash into science.

Am I the only one who would love such features?

Funny. Civ3 was supposed to be more of a "builder" game. Hence the defensive advantages (enemies cannot use your roads/railroads), the wierd combat results (spearmen defeating cavalry, because it is supposed that the builder player will not upgrade his army so frequently, therefore he has to stand a chance against warmongerers), the possibility to achieve a "peaceful" win through culture.

But it seems that something went wrong. The builder player is not rewarded for his science investment, because superior technology does not give you real combat advantages (unless you have spearmen against tanks... ooops :D ). And given the way the AI civs trade techs amongst themselves, it is better to put all your money on taxes and buy techs from the AI instead of researching them yourself.

Interesting...

Originally posted by Zerzes

One of my wishes for civ3 was that scoring should be biased more towards what you have accomplished rather than how big empire you have. One example of that would be extra score for every advance you were first to discover.

No offense intended, but why are you interested in score anyway? Personally, I'm more interested in winning the game than achieving a high score. Score is of little importance to me.