1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Is the standard map too small?

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by jjkrause84, Aug 14, 2016.

  1. Matthew.

    Matthew. Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,179
    It should be fine. Vic is correct that a standard map you could easily fit in 6-8 cities. Not all of those cities would have luxuries and such, but that is besides the point; there was enough room to get a solid 6-8 cities.

    If Civ 6 is ~20% larger, that should ease up the greater demand on tile improvement mechanics.

    As for what "ideal number" is good, I don't much care. All I care about is that it is always beneficial enough to settle cities so the map gets filled up. Having huge swaths of land go unsettled was never much fun.
     
  2. stiiknafuulia

    stiiknafuulia King

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Messages:
    603
    Sorry; I somehow missed the part about peaceful expansion. Still though, a dozen cities or so were usually possible even with no warfare. (Also, as I often played on larger than Standard sized maps, my experience might've biased my post a little bit. I made it in a hurry and didn't think that much about it.)

    I disagree about more cities being useless in Civ III. If you used Communism as a government, you could obtain 66 % commerce and production in every city, regardless of their location. I often colonized empty continents in the mid-game like this; while a Democracy was more efficient on the home continent, colonies would be useless in it due to corruption, which is why I favored Communism (as well as for roleplay reasons -- all hail the Great Leader of the Supreme World Revolution! :D).

    In Civ IV it was very expensive to maintain a large empire of your own cities, iirc. 50 might be near the absolute limit of a maintainable amount of cities.
     
  3. Deggial

    Deggial Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,345
    Location:
    Germany
    Ed confirmed that, due to the new city-unstacking-mechanism, maps will be 20-30% bigger!
     
  4. Atlas627

    Atlas627 Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,789
    Where? When? I was sure they said they wouldn't change it when they first announced the game.
     
  5. Cuneiform

    Cuneiform Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Messages:
    151
    Given the early game restrictions on road building and new movement rules for hills and rivers etc, then I think Standard maps might "feel" somewhat bigger even if they aren't.
     
  6. TheMarshmallowBear

    TheMarshmallowBear Benelovent Chieftain of the BearKingdom

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,521
    Location:
    Inside an Ikanda.
    Can someone specify if they mean the actual X and Y sizes or just the landmass type?

    Because I swear we've seen conflicting reports. One that claimed that the habitale area is just increased (so less oceans) and that the map size has stayed the same.
     
  7. King Jason

    King Jason Fleece-bearer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,027
    They said that it didn't need to be changed. An interviewer asked if due to unstacking the cities that meant maps needed to be bigger and Ed said that wasn't necessarily the case.

    Doesn't mean they didn't change map sizes or script bigger landmasses anyway.
     
  8. SMcM

    SMcM Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,347
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    London, England
    To me, considering city sizes, the map size looks very inadequate. Cities should not be able to cover most of you land in the Middle Ages; that is just un-immersive. I think we need maps a few be a few times the size of the Civ 5 ones.
     
  9. King Jason

    King Jason Fleece-bearer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,027
    In what videos have cities covered most of the land in the middle ages? In marbozir's video, one who expanded and covered more of the tech tree than others, there are still immense blank spaces same as in civ5 and he made it into the renaissance era past turn 100. By comparison, Quill 18 and BAstarts videos were still in the middle ages past turn 100 and had the same issue. Hardly any of their cities had occupied 3rd ring hexes without gold influence.
     
  10. Deggial

    Deggial Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,345
    Location:
    Germany
    Unfortunately I am well aware the fact that I am just another dude claiming sonething on the internet. Without a propper quote, this is worth exactly nothing! :(

    All I can say is, that it was mentioned in one of the thousand interviews I saw after the 3rd of August (here we go... now the random guy is exaggerating ridiculously; another internet phenomena! :D ).
    Anyway, in the interview I don't remember exactly, the numbers were mentioned and cought my interest, hence I am sure at least of them! ... I think.

    Alas! Just believe me! ;)
     
  11. Atlas627

    Atlas627 Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,789
    No, I am totally fine with believing you. I am just some other person making some other claim lol

    I wasn't trying to demand absolute proof, that was more of a "huh? WHAT?! OMG" type thing
     
  12. Jaybe

    Jaybe civus fanaticus Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,561
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    OF COURSE the standard map size is too small! I only play HUGE continent maps (though I'll probably play at least my 1st civ6 game on standard). :D
     
  13. Nares

    Nares Emperor

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,631
    Amen.

    Stack combat was awful. 1UPT is better. Small stacks would (probably) be even better. Civ5 is still a terrible game, regardless.
     
  14. Janskey

    Janskey Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    407
    Location:
    Finland
    Does any of the gameplay videos have enough of the map revealed, so that the minimap is in it's final scale? If so, map size could be calculated by comparing the number of hexes visible on screen vs. number of pixels in the white trapezoid on the minimap. This would give us hexes per minimap pixels. Then measure the width and height of the whole minimap in pixels.
     

Share This Page